Hello Guest it is April 19, 2024, 07:59:50 AM

Author Topic: Machining bolt heads  (Read 5922 times)

Machining bolt heads
« on: February 18, 2014, 09:03:35 AM »
I'm new to Mach3 Mill and would like to know if there is a wizard available to mill a hex bolt? I restore old motorcycles and some of the bolts which are non-standard need to be made. Should I modify a bolt circle program?

Joe
Re: Machining bolt heads
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2014, 06:09:59 PM »
Bolt circle wouldn't work good it's Gcode is like a compus with arc from center point. If you have cad program a simple hex with the offset for the size you need will do.
Ther are nut and bolt libraries available for cad also.

Good luck
Steve
I have this ultimate set of tools I can fix it.
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2014, 10:18:08 PM »
Thanks, Steve, but I don't have a cad/cam program and was hoping there was a Mach3 wizard out there.
« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2014, 02:48:31 AM »
There is a shapes wizard in Mach that does polygons and you select the number of sides but seems confusing to use. Might be able to dig something out of it.
Has other shapes too.

Steve
I have this ultimate set of tools I can fix it.

Offline Tweakie.CNC

•  9,198 9,198
  • Super Kitty
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: February 21, 2014, 02:50:19 AM »
The Mach3 Shapes wizard will do the bolt head but setting up that wizard will take a little practice.  ;)

Tweakie.

(Steve beat me to it  ;D)

PEACE
« Reply #5 on: February 21, 2014, 12:06:03 PM »
Tweakie and Steve

Many thanks for the Shapes suggestion. I pulled it up and will start messing around with it. Looks like it will fit the bill once I smash a few end mills against the stock......

Offline Tweakie.CNC

•  9,198 9,198
  • Super Kitty
    • View Profile
« Reply #6 on: February 21, 2014, 12:21:27 PM »
once I smash a few end mills against the stock......

;D ;D ;D

Tweakie.
PEACE
« Reply #7 on: February 21, 2014, 05:53:18 PM »
Joe,