Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 11:20:49 AM

Author Topic: VB Coding help  (Read 2973 times)

VB Coding help
« on: April 02, 2014, 08:42:32 PM »
Hello all,

I have been using mach3 to run my lathe for 5 or 6 years now and love it.  I use the turn wizards provided and find them excellent.

Recently I decided to learn how to develop my own wizards.  I have set up screens in machscreen and all looks good.

I could use a bit of help with the (post GCODE) vb.
I have referenced some of the turn wizard code to learn.  I get the OEM DROs, the various math involved, the initial coding to setup the script, etc.

Where I get stuck is a few things,

1.) The  Pass_Num.  I guess this is "the pass number used for calculating how many passes there would be in an operation?"  I see it as Pass_Num = 1   Then see it in the math coding,,,,  (Xstart - Xend * Pass_Num)    etc.

2.) The "Openteachfile"  Can I type any name I want here, or does a file have to exist somewhere for it to reference?

Example of a simple wizard.

I have user input DROs as
ZSTART - start
ZEND - end
ZINC - increment
ZDwell - dwell time between movements

I want the user to be able to enter the ZSTART, ZEND and an increment to move along the way, (ZINC) along with a dwell time between each movement.

ZSTART = 0
ZEND = 1 meter
ZINC = .1 meter
ZDwell = 5 sec

Z would move from zero to 0.1, dwell for 5 sec, then move to 0.2, dwell, etc...

How would I write this simple code?

Thanks all for any help !!

Steve

TheDude,
Re: VB Coding help
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2014, 03:00:55 PM »
this will do the move and dwell, all in lowercase, but that is just how i prefer to type, note dwell is in ms. there may be soem erros as i hav enot tested this but the logic is there to do it.

sub tap(byval zstart as double,byval zend as double,byval zinc as double,byval dwell as double,byval speed as double)
dim zpos as double
zpos = zstart

while zpos >= zend
code "g01 z " & zpos & " f " & speed
while IsMoving()
sleep(10)
wend