Author Topic: Problem generating 3+2 G code  (Read 342 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Georgiedog

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Problem generating 3+2 G code
« on: November 10, 2018, 05:54:26 AM »
Hi,
     I am experiencing problems generating 3+2 axis (5 axis positional ) G code to run on Mach3,
     Any ideas would be most hepfull

Offline Tweakie.CNC

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 7,682
  • Super Kitty
    • View Profile
    • Tweakie.CNC
Re: Problem generating 3+2 G code
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2018, 06:11:52 AM »
If you Google 5 Axis CAD/CAM software you should find a choice of suitable programs.

Not one of my favourites but there are many here who like BobCAD-CAM and that will generate 5 axis toolpaths suitable for use with Mach3.

Tweakie.
Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm.  Winston Churchill.

Offline Georgiedog

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Problem generating 3+2 G code
« Reply #2 on: November 10, 2018, 06:27:43 AM »
Currently using Fusion 360 for modelling,
And posting out G code,
Thanks for quick response

Offline ger21

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 6,156
    • View Profile
    • The CNC Woodworker
Re: Problem generating 3+2 G code
« Reply #3 on: November 10, 2018, 06:51:12 AM »
It's helpful if you describe what the problems are that you are having.
Gerry

2010 Screenset
http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM Dovetail and Box Joint software
http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

Offline Georgiedog

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Problem generating 3+2 G code
« Reply #4 on: November 10, 2018, 07:18:57 AM »
On posting code Mach 3 states that its unrecognizable and does not run

Offline ger21

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 6,156
    • View Profile
    • The CNC Woodworker
Re: Problem generating 3+2 G code
« Reply #5 on: November 10, 2018, 07:43:59 AM »
Are you using a Mach3 post processor in Fusion360?
Gerry

2010 Screenset
http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM Dovetail and Box Joint software
http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

Offline Georgiedog

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Problem generating 3+2 G code
« Reply #6 on: November 10, 2018, 08:16:47 AM »
No, I am trying to use Fusion 360 listed post processor,
When I tried Mach 3 post processor it flagged up "tool path orientation not supported",

   

Offline ger21

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 6,156
    • View Profile
    • The CNC Woodworker
Re: Problem generating 3+2 G code
« Reply #7 on: November 10, 2018, 08:33:57 AM »
Then it sounds like you need a new post processor.
Gerry

2010 Screenset
http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM Dovetail and Box Joint software
http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

Offline Graham Waterworth

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 1,845
  • West Yorkshire, England
    • View Profile
    • Autovalues Engineering
Re: Problem generating 3+2 G code
« Reply #8 on: January 24, 2019, 07:38:25 PM »
Are you using the free version of Fusion, from memory its not 5 axis only the Pro version is.

G-Code is on the cutting edge

Autovalues Engineering, CNC machining specialists, Bradford, England