Hello Guest it is April 19, 2024, 11:37:29 PM

Author Topic: Mach3's DRO pauses intermittently  (Read 2933 times)

Mach3's DRO pauses intermittently
« on: September 27, 2013, 02:56:46 PM »
Hello - I am relatively new to the world of Mach3 and CNC machines.  I have an older 3-axis router which I am trying to make usable.  I am running Mach3.

I am in the process of making a new table to mount to the existing subtable - a 'simple' matter of drilling a set of holes with counter bores.  I am using G12 to make the counter bores and drill the holes with a 1/4" cutter.

The trouble is that some holes are not coming out round, they are simply 1/4" wide grooves, there is no activity on the Y axis at all.  It was suggested that this was likely to be a problem with the machine getting hung up, so I disassembled the X and Y axis, cleaned them, lubed them, and they both glide nicely when not attached to the screws.  I find no points of hesitation.  I have turned the acceleration down to 1 to further limit the effect of mass/stiff glides.  The screws are acme with Kerk anti-backlash nuts, all clean, lubed, and in apparently good shape.  I have the speed set at 40 because the motors stall at 80.  The feed rate in my drilling program is 30.

There are three things I do not understand:
1) For those holes that are mis-cut, the DRO does not show the Y axis moving - if it was just the steppers missing steps, shouldn't the DRO on the Mach3 screen show the numbers on the Y axis changing, like it does for the X axis?  Why does it not?  On good holes, both axis are shown changing by the DRO.  There is a (related?) issue that occassionally in a traverse the movement will pause, then start again in half a secod or so - and again the DRO also pauses.

2) Not all the holes are misshapen - but it is consistent as to which are.  In particular, the first one is each time (which is nice for testing).