Hello Guest it is March 29, 2024, 05:36:00 AM

Author Topic: Edge Finder Dia offsets wrong direction and Sherline Y axis measurements  (Read 4574 times)

I apologize, but I have misconfigured my Mach3 and searches through the forums, etc are not helping.

On my Y axis, once I enter the Edge Finder Dia, move my tool to the side of the work, and select the edge, the offset from the tool is applied in the wrong direction.  My 0 gets moved farther away from the work.

My first thought was that I was selecting the wrong edge in the offsets screen, but both edges apply the offset in the same wrong direction, or am I becomming senile?  To fix this, I have been entering G01 Y1.25 and zero Y again.  It hasn't caused a problem except for annoyance.

A final question:  I am new to CNC milling but I would have expected the scale on my Y axis of the sherline mill to match Mach 3 machine coordinates for Y.  Instead, it is reversed.  As the end mill moves in the +Y direction (which as I look at the mill means the end mill is moving away from me) for Mach3, my Sherline mill scale moves in the -Y direction.  It is only an annoyance, but it means that I have to home my Y axis at 7" instead of 0".  Am I completely reversed somewhere?  Am I looking at my milling machine sideways or something?  I can't imagine I am doing this correctly.

My X axis is working as expected for both edge finder dia and the movement of the endmill in the X direction matching the scale on the X axis.

Thoughts?  And thank you,
Fowler

Offline Graham Waterworth

•  2,668 2,668
  • Yorkshire Dales, England
    • View Profile
Without engineers the world stops
Thank you, I think that helps.  If I read that post correctly, then my end mill is properly moving in the Y direction away from me and Sherline simply has their scale on their machine backwards from a CNC perspective. 

I am not screwed up, but Sherline is.  I still find that hard to believe.