Hello Guest it is March 29, 2024, 10:46:06 AM

Author Topic: How do I apply tool offset in Mach 3 turn?  (Read 5582 times)

How do I apply tool offset in Mach 3 turn?
« on: July 18, 2013, 07:50:21 PM »
Hi all, newbie here.
My problem is that I can't seem to apply my tool offsets. I have 4 tools in my tool table so far with the x and y offset values.
When I input G43 H2 (or H3 H4) into the MDI line, nothing happens.
I was expecting machine to move to the tool offset. Where am I going wrong?

Thanks
Richard

Offline Hood

•  25,835 25,835
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
Re: How do I apply tool offset in Mach 3 turn?
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2013, 03:59:51 AM »
Lathe tools are not called the same way as with Mill.
To call a lathe tool you have Txxyy where the xx represents the tool number and the yy represents the offset number.
For example T0101 means tool 1 and offsets from 1 in the tool table.
T0120 would mean tool 1 and the values from  20 in the tool table.

There is no need for a M6 in Turn although it will do no harm if it is there.
G43H is not used at all.

Hood
« Reply #2 on: July 19, 2013, 05:57:34 AM »
All sorted now. By inputting "T0202  X0 Z0" (for example) the machine now moves to the tool offset.    Inputting Just T0202 or any other tool and offset number wasnt getting any movement. Had to add X0 Z0 after.

Many Thanks

Offline Hood

•  25,835 25,835
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 19, 2013, 07:05:08 AM »
Normally you do not want the axis to automatically move on a lathe for the actual tool change, thus the DROs will only reflect the offset when a tool is called.

Hood
« Reply #4 on: July 19, 2013, 08:36:19 AM »
Its all making sense now. Does mach 3 stop automatically when it encounters a tool change line such as "T0202" in a program, or would you have to add the "M00" command, then hit start cycle after the tool change is done.

Thanks Richard
« Reply #5 on: July 19, 2013, 08:55:07 AM »