Hello Guest it is March 19, 2024, 05:43:12 AM

Author Topic: Axis Mixing Issue  (Read 5934 times)

Axis Mixing Issue
« on: May 29, 2013, 12:02:24 AM »
Hello All,

I must first confess that I am very new to CNC machines, but I hope to become a pro with a little patience and advice from the experts. I am having an issue wherein Mach3 seems to be mixing my axes. What I mean by this is the following:

1) My z axis is being treated by Mach 3 as my x axis.
2) The x & y axes are being treated as only my z axis. For example, when I press the pg up and pg dwn keys, the axes jog together at a diagonally at an equal rate across my mill.

I am sure this is simply a setting somewhere in Mach 3 that is easy for the experts, but I just can't find it. However, if that is not the case, I would be happy to provide some more background information about the setup procedure I used and the hardware as well. Lastly, I apologize if I am asking my question in the wrong section of this forum, but I did not see a particular place it belonged; therefore, the "General Mach Discussion" seemed to fit the best. Please feel free administrators to move this if it is posted in the incorrect discussion board.

Thanks,

Jacob

Offline Hood

•  25,835 25,835
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
Re: Axis Mixing Issue
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2013, 04:23:49 AM »
It sounds like you possibly have the ports and pins set incorrectly such that when you jog an axis two axis are set to the same output and you are getting both moving.
The other thing I can think it may be is you have one axis slaved to another.