Hello Guest it is March 19, 2024, 05:13:20 AM

Author Topic: Will Mach3 let me pass the edge of a job past a fixed welding torch  (Read 9266 times)

Hi,
Complete newbe, first post.
 I am trying to build a table that passes the outer edge of a rectangular flange with rounded corners past a MiG torch max size 1000x650mm
It's a bit like holding a paintbrush out in front of you to paint a stripe around the outside of a biscuit tin as it passes by.
I think I need X,Y and C rotation. The only way I can work out to do this is to have the job centered on a turntable that is driven X,Y.
I think I have worked out a tool path that would work but it looks like a capital "D" on it's back with a Parallel line inside the "D"
I could move X until I get to a corner then rotate the job around the center of the corner radius by rotating the table 90 deg and moving the center of the job in an opposite arc to the corner at the same time.
This all seems a bit messy, is there a better way of passing the edge of your job past a tool like a grindwheel for example.

Im finding this a bit tough for my intro into CNC, If only I could have started with a 3 axis mill.

Ricky
Hi there

I think the main reason nobody has responded to your post yet is because the discription is all messy and can't figure out by what you mean ???. Maybe if you make some sort of a drawing by hand or Cad and attach it here, people can understand you and help you setup as there are quite a few clever guys around on this site.

Cheers
Thanks for your reply, I was very tired and frustrated when I posted.
I have learned more about G- Code and using Mach3. I have started building the system now.
I am building a moving x,y table with a turntable. I have a fixed base 2000mm X 1300mm. On top is my X table 800 x 1300, on that my Y table 800x800 and on that a 1100 x 1100 square turntable.