Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 09:34:08 AM

Author Topic: RE: Unsupported aftermarket Digitizer Probe for Carbide 3D Shapeoko XX  (Read 4027 times)

Greetings,

I am new to CNC .... so I don't have a lot of CNC knowledge.... Yet…so apologies if my phrasing or context is a little out of sync.

In June or July  of this year I plan to purchase Carbide 3D Shapeoko XXL    https://shop.carbide3d.com/collections/frontpage/products/shapeoko-xl-kit?variant=15826339270   However I have a hardware / software  problem that I need to solve first ....I would really appreciate any assistance / input  that this forum could provide..

My Application / Problem

1. I would like to use  the  Shapeoko CNC Router  with a digital probe attached to it   to systemically digitize  my bas relief art pattern, the goal is to create a digital file which can be rescaled to different sizes .. and be out put in variety  materials wood metal, plastics etc.....
2. The master pattern could be anywhere from three quarters to one quarter of an inch thick the overall size will vary.  I will be producing hundreds of patterns and would like to do this in house

My request to this forum for Assistance:

3. Is there  way to address this through "alternative" software such as Mach 3 or 4 (the hobby version)  so I don’t have to go to a third party to scan my bas relief artwork ..
4. Can somebody in this forum please  tell me in point form what hardware and software upgrades I would have to make to the Carbide 3D Shapeoko XXL https://shop.carbide3d.com/collections/frontpage/products/shapeoko-xl-kit?variant=1582633927     to accept a digitizer.

Carbide 3D advised me that a their software could not support a digitizer  the explanation below was provided: 

Excerpts from the Carbide 3's forum:

GRBL G38

GRBL does support G38. (And if my memory is correct we submitted the patch to add it to GRBL right before the Nomad shipped)
Carbide Motion supports G38 as well

Touch probes with Carbide Motion