Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 10:05:58 AM

Author Topic: z axis deep problem  (Read 4103 times)

z axis deep problem
« on: November 09, 2012, 07:39:32 AM »
Hello everyone!

I'm new to CNC I'm using VCarve Pro and Mach 3.
I have a problem with the Z axis cutting deep that I can't solve, I have read thousands of posts and searched a lot and played with speeds and feeds and I don't thinks that it is a missing steps problem.
I attached to this post 3 files, a calibration toolpath I made and it's reference sheet and part of a pocket toolpath, both created in VCarve Pro.
When I run the calibration.tap it works very precisely, but adds 0.3 mm to the deep of each pocket, I can't understand why...
The pocket.tap is stranger yet, it is all made to cut at 0.5 mm deep and cuts with 2.0 mm each time I run it.
I don't think it is a missing step problem, because when I stop it or it finishes and I press the goto zero button it goes precisely to zero even the z axis.
I have tried with a piece of paper between the tip of the end mill and the workpiece, with the paper barely moving and after running the pocket.tap and pressing goto zero it returns I check with the paper and it is ok.

Please help!

Offline Tweakie.CNC

•  9,196 9,196
  • Super Kitty
    • View Profile
Re: z axis deep problem
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2012, 12:26:35 PM »
Your pocket.tap file cuts 0.5mm deep here when setting Z zero at the top surface of the work.

The only thing I can suggest is that you check the calibration of your Z axis (steps per unit).
Move your Z axis near to the bottom of its travel and zero the Z axis DRO, mount a steel rule vertically next to your axis, note the reading and in the MDI line type G0 Z100 (or whatever) and check that your Z axis does indeed move up 100mm.

Tweakie.
PEACE
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2012, 01:16:47 PM »
Thanks Tweakie, but I set my steps per unit using Mach3 settings and a digital paquimeter and the result is very accurate.

Offline Hood

•  25,835 25,835