Hello Guest it is April 19, 2024, 07:25:21 AM

Author Topic: Sync mill spindle with rotary axis possible?  (Read 5918 times)

Offline newatcnc

•  48 48
  • Alford, Scotland + Jurong Singapore
    • View Profile
Sync mill spindle with rotary axis possible?
« on: August 29, 2012, 03:48:23 PM »
Hi everyone
I am thinking of buying compucut gear hobbing sync hardware/software to allow me to cut helical gears on my mill.

However, I was wondering if it's possible to syc the mill spindle with a rotary axis using Mach for turning.

Anyone tried this?

I am a newbie and have used mach 3 for milling very successfully over the last year but I have no experience yet of cnc turning, that's another project.

Your guidance appreciated.

Nigel

Offline Hood

•  25,835 25,835
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
Re: Sync mill spindle with rotary axis possible?
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2012, 05:26:13 PM »
The only real sync you can do is with threading.
You can do a feed per rev but thats not really in sync.
What you could do however is if you have a servo (step/dir) or stepper as an A axis then you could sync it and any other axis just like you do with X, Y, Z etc.
Hood

Offline newatcnc

•  48 48
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2012, 08:55:41 PM »
Hi Hood
Thanks for your reply.
To hob a gear using a helical hob (as used by commercial gear cutters) the Z axis will be fixed, the Y axis will provide depth of cut and the x axis feed, all independent of the rotation of the rotary or A axis.
Correct me if I am wrong, but I gather that Mach 3 will only accept 1 pulse per spindle rev when thread cutting.
So thinking about it a bit more, if you were to hob say a 10 tooth gear, for each rev of the spindle the rotary axis has to rotate 36 deg and in true sync with each fractional turn of the spindle.
I am beginning to think that the pulse rate per rev of the spindle has to be high for this to work reasonably accurately, which I don't think Mach can do.