Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 06:06:45 AM

Author Topic: Engraver Conversion  (Read 3546 times)

Engraver Conversion
« on: July 16, 2012, 08:28:18 PM »
Hi folks,

I'm new to Mach 3 so this may be a dumb question...

I am converting an ancient Dahlgren 300 engraver from the DOS world into this millennium.  This all seems workable except that I'm a little stuck on Z axis control.  There is no stepper here- just a relay to move the cutter up and down. (control is actually electric valve pneumatic)

The question- how do I configure Mach 3 for this kind of "binary" control?

Also, I plan to use this setup with either Engravelab or Flexi Engrave.  Any comments on these 2 pieces of software would be appreciated!

Thanks!

Offline Tweakie.CNC

•  9,196 9,196
  • Super Kitty
    • View Profile
Re: Engraver Conversion
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2012, 01:26:16 AM »
Hi Bobby,

You can control the pen down / pen up function quite easily by using the M3 / M5 commands within your GCode.
These commands can be mapped to an available output pin and used to control your relay in exactly the same way as a spindle on / off control.

Tweakie.
PEACE
« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2012, 05:56:18 AM »
Tweakie,

Thanks!

Meanwhile, I've been messing around and I also noticed in the Config / General Config a check bubble that reads "Z is 2.5D on Output #6".  Any thoughts on this?  My guess is that this should map M3 / M5 to pin 6(?)

My real concern is a little downstream- I will be using the G code output from commercial engraving SW to run this.  Do you see any problems with the SW interface?

Offline Tweakie.CNC

•  9,196 9,196
  • Super Kitty
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2012, 06:58:02 AM »
Hi Bobby,

No, don’t use the 2.5D

Under Config / Ports & Pins / Spindle setup, specify an Output # for M3 (1 would be good). Then under Output Signals for Output #1 specify the port and pin you will be using to drive your pen up / down.