Hello Guest it is March 19, 2024, 04:39:16 AM

Author Topic: Jumbled up letter  (Read 3929 times)

Jumbled up letter
« on: May 06, 2012, 08:36:09 PM »
I have just built a homemade cnc and loaded the trial version of Mach 3. I went into the text wizard and typed a capital B in Times New Roman. When I ran the program the attached photo is what it produced. What the heck am I doing wrong??? I'm brand new to this stuff and don't know too much! Any help is greatly appreciated.

Offline Hood

•  25,835 25,835
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
Re: Jumbled up letter
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2012, 03:17:05 AM »
Does the toolpath look correct on the screen? If it does then likely your Y axis is stalling.
Hood

Offline RICH

•  7,427 7,427
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2012, 06:46:14 AM »
I'm brand new to this stuff and don't know too much! Any help is greatly appreciated.

Help is available but I would strongly recommend that you have read of the manuals and other info for how to do something.
Alll of this is not just plug and play  and one just needs to go through the learning curve.

RICH
« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2012, 08:24:42 AM »
The toolpath does look correct on the screen. I have been reading the Mach 3 manual and trying to digest it, and knew that it would not be as easy as I had hoped for...unfortunately LOL. My Y axis does seem to make an awful noise when it goes the one direction, but runs real smooth in the other direction. I was going to try and take the motor off and test it without any load and then remount to see if there was something with the way it was mounted. I wondered about the Y axis stalling a little bit but couldn't imagine why it would have moved part of the letter that far down. I am also going to try and slow it down to see if that helps, though I don't have it moving to fast now anyway. Thanks for your ideas.

Offline Hood

•  25,835 25,835
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: May 07, 2012, 08:32:53 AM »