Author Topic: Index pulse C3 and G540  (Read 14138 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline cornbinder23

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: Index pulse C3 and G540
« Reply #20 on: April 30, 2012, 09:52:51 PM »
Ok, so I set my zero's (z end of part, x center of rotation)
Then I go to the threading wizard, and input my data
1" depth internal thread LH (Z start 0, Z end -1)
1.37X24tpi (X start -.65, X end -.685)
Cutting on the backside, spindle reversed, normal feed direction.
Problem is it wont let me enter a negative value in the X start  box, if that makes sense?
Or am I going about this wrong?

Jayson

Offline Hood

  • Mach4 Alpha
  • Posts: 25,774
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
Re: Index pulse C3 and G540
« Reply #21 on: May 01, 2012, 03:15:10 AM »
Looks like the standard wizard DRO is not formatted to allow you to enter a negative for the start X. You can easily change that by opening it in screen4 or Machscreen and changing the format string of that DRO.
To do that open the screen designer then File, Open then browse to Mach3 folder. Then Turn Addons then Simple Threading and you should see threading (lathe).set, double click it and choose the resolution to view. Then double click the  DRO you want to change and you should see the properties box, in the format string it will have %.3f, change that to %+.3f then close that box, save the screenset then thats it. Restart Mach if you have it open and then when you go into the wizard you should be able to enter a  -


Hood

Offline cornbinder23

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: Index pulse C3 and G540
« Reply #22 on: May 01, 2012, 10:09:41 PM »
I have a very firm grasp on machining and electronics, but software makes me twitch
Its kind of a joke in the shop I work in "All you gotta do is..." In my line of work, if you hear
that from mgmt. you are in for some loooong weeks.
That said I will give it a go Hood, I really appreciate everyone's help here.

Jayson

P.S. why does the tool path window show an image of an external thread, when I am cutting internal?

Offline Hood

  • Mach4 Alpha
  • Posts: 25,774
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
Re: Index pulse C3 and G540
« Reply #23 on: May 02, 2012, 03:24:37 AM »

P.S. why does the tool path window show an image of an external thread, when I am cutting internal?
It shouldnt, post a pic of it if you can
Hood

Offline cornbinder23

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: Index pulse C3 and G540
« Reply #24 on: May 03, 2012, 11:00:22 PM »
Everything went great! til I turned on my computer haha
But seriously folks I did not see a screen designer in my mach folder?

Jayson

Offline Hood

  • Mach4 Alpha
  • Posts: 25,774
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
Re: Index pulse C3 and G540
« Reply #25 on: May 04, 2012, 02:14:33 AM »
Get it on the downloads page.
Hood

Offline cornbinder23

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: Index pulse C3 and G540
« Reply #26 on: May 04, 2012, 10:08:51 PM »
Thanks Hood, that was painless!
Will try to post a pic of the finished part as soon as its done
trying to button up my 3d printer rhis weekend as well.

Jayson

Offline Hood

  • Mach4 Alpha
  • Posts: 25,774
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
Re: Index pulse C3 and G540
« Reply #27 on: May 05, 2012, 04:18:55 AM »
look forward to it.
Hood