Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 05:24:35 PM

Author Topic: Bad cuts  (Read 3717 times)

Bad cuts
« on: April 07, 2012, 11:29:51 PM »
I just got a Romaxx and have had no success getting a good face on my cuts.

I'm using Vcarve and Mach3, a bosch colt and onsrud bits.
I'm getting chatter marks and can also clearly see each depth of cut.
I've adjusted the velocity in Mach 3 from 160 down to 60 and that helped a little. I've tried running the router from 15k-36k rpm and the result are the same.

I'm a newbie and a bit confused at what to adjust first as there are so many options.
I'm cutting profiles and pockets in 3/8" Baltic Birch ply with 1/4" compression bits and 3/4" maple with a 3/4" bit. I'm using bits that Onsrud recommended.

Help is greatly appreciated!

Offline Tweakie.CNC

•  9,196 9,196
  • Super Kitty
    • View Profile
Re: Bad cuts
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2012, 03:46:35 AM »
Hi Dminnery,

My fist action would be to reduce the step-over size associated with the selected tool in the VCarve tool table and see if that improved the situation (obviously you would need to create a new tool-path at the new settings).

Just a thought.

Tweakie.
PEACE
« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2012, 10:00:39 AM »
Chattering usually means you're cutting too much too fast.  Reduce your depth of cut per pass and as Tweakie suggested, reduce the step over distance.  The rigidity of the machine has a lot to do with how much you can cut in a pass and how fast.  Also, 3/4" is a lot of bit for the Bosch Colt router...especially working with hardwoods.
« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2012, 10:23:51 AM »
I'll adjust the step-over, currently set at .1, thanks.

I'll try cutting at a shallower depth as well. sorry mis-typed, I'm using a 1/4" bit in 3/4" maple-will edit post.

Offline Tweakie.CNC

•  9,196 9,196
  • Super Kitty
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 08, 2012, 10:39:30 AM »
Hi Dminnery,

Thinking more about this.....