Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 08:35:35 AM

Author Topic: Questions about a ESS from a Mach newbie  (Read 3196 times)

Questions about a ESS from a Mach newbie
« on: March 06, 2012, 04:39:25 PM »
Well I just got tasked with running a new KL6090 at work.  I am used to running Haas lathes so I am not new to cnc, but I have no experience with Mach 3.  I was given the KL6090, an Ethernet Smooth Stepper and a computer and told I need to program it so we will be able to engrave various parts we make.  So far I have loaded Mach3 downloaded the plugin for the ESS, supplied 5V to the ESS and connected the ESS to the computer.  This is where I get stuck. I am not familiar setting the ports and pins in Mach 3 and the KL6090 came with no documentation and the company it was purchased from will not offer any technical advice and constantly tells me to I have to connect with a rs232 cable and get Mach3 working that way before I can use the ESS, problem being I have no com ports on any of the available computers.  Only usb and ethernet ports, hence the ESS.  So any help would be appreciated.

What do I need to tell Mach is the com port address?
currently I am plugged into 1 on the ESS, but when I try to get the motors to jog they do nothing.

Im sure Ill have more questions to follow.

Shawn

Offline Mc2

•  31 31
    • View Profile
Re: Questions about a ESS from a Mach newbie
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2012, 09:58:58 AM »