Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 10:01:27 AM

Author Topic: Sherline Lathe only travels half the distance Mach3 reads. HELP!  (Read 8152 times)

Offline RS

•  9 9
    • View Profile
Sherline Lathe only travels half the distance Mach3 reads. HELP!
« on: November 09, 2011, 08:01:32 PM »
Hello,
    I am brand new to this and I don't really know what I am doing.  I just bought a Sherline lathe with servo motors and Mach3.  I set up the lathe and everything is working fine except for the fact that when I jog it 1" in Mach3, it only actually travels .5".  It seems that all movement and speeds shown in Mach3 are double what is actually happening on the lathe.  I have searched the forum and found that other people with this problem had to adjust their motor tuning to get it to work right.  I was given a sheet of specs for motor tuning with the lathe for quick setup but obviously it isn't working, if the problem is actually with the motor tuning.  I was hoping somebody could look at these settings and see if they could figure out what I am missing.  I have attached a few of the spec sheets that came with the lathe and a motor tuning and general configuration screenshot.  I can supply any other screenshot you might need.  Below are links to the type of servo drivers and servo motors I have.  I appreciate any help that you can give on setting this up correctly.  Thank you.

RS

http://www.imsrv.com/deskcnc/servospecs.pdf
http://www.cadcamcadcam.com/assemblymotorreducer.aspx

Offline Hood

•  25,835 25,835
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
Re: Sherline Lathe only travels half the distance Mach3 reads. HELP!
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2011, 02:50:21 AM »
If it only travels half the distance commanded then you need to double the steps per unit of each axis doing so, that is in Motor Tuning.

Hood
« Reply #2 on: November 10, 2011, 02:59:32 AM »
Hi,

The actual movement of the cross slide will be 1/2 the distance displayed in the X axis. (if you'r working in diameter)