Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 06:13:28 PM

Author Topic: Cutting depth is deeper than whats programmed  (Read 5876 times)

Cutting depth is deeper than whats programmed
« on: January 19, 2012, 08:01:49 PM »
I am new to mach 3 and I have the basic setup done in order to use Mach 3 milling. The problem that I am having is explain below:

I have a stock or peace of material that is 0.5 inch thick. I am designing a gear and I have uploaded my g code to mach 3. I jog the x,y,z axis in the location I want it. The tool that is on the z axis is flesh again the material I am cutting. After doing all of this I press the buttons to zero the x,y, and z axis. I upload the g-code and began milling. everything from the x and y axis are correct, but the z axis cut the material top surface 1/3 inch down. Once everything is finish I notice that the tool has cut into the cnc machine table 1/3 inch.

I am using meshcam and I email support my g-code and they tell me that everything is fine and that on there machine it is not doing what mind is doing.
There support told me that it sound like a offset is turn on but they are not sure

Can someone help me out. with this.   

Offline RICH

•  7,427 7,427
    • View Profile
Re: Cutting depth is deeper than whats programmed
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2012, 09:24:46 PM »
Just repeat exactly how you set up before, but don't run the program, Then look at  CONFIG> FIXTURES
and see if there are any offsets. Also look at your first few lines of code and see what moves are taking place.

Think you will find your answer.

BTW, You can avoid what happened by air cutting / dry running the program before actually trying to machine it.
This way if something is not correct you can correct it before milling the table top.
RICH
« Last Edit: January 19, 2012, 09:27:43 PM by RICH »

Offline BR549

•  6,965 6,965
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2012, 10:00:58 PM »
IF the axis is set correctly for steps per unit then