Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 11:35:57 AM

Author Topic: Learning Mach 3  (Read 2824 times)

Learning Mach 3
« on: December 24, 2016, 08:05:26 AM »
Good Morning: Probably covered this subject many times before, but I am new to the Forum and new to the world of CNC
I have a Shop Task/Shopmaster Patriot 4 axis machine w/full CNC and Mach 3 on it's connected computer. I am literate, have considerable skills in design, modeling, eat, very much attached to my industry, ceramic design for the tabletop and housewares industries.

I am wondering if there is anyone in the Denver/Front Range Area that can help me learn some basics of Mach 3 so I can move from the world of manual operations to CNC? And yes, I would be happy to compensate for travel and time.

Also, any reccommendations for books? Really need getting started type books........
Thanks in advance

Ceramic Design in Denver

Offline Tweakie.CNC

•  9,196 9,196
  • Super Kitty
    • View Profile
Re: Learning Mach 3
« Reply #1 on: December 24, 2016, 09:39:02 AM »
Initially, perhaps take a look at our Video's and Tutorials here;  http://www.machsupport.com/help-learning/

Tweakie.
PEACE
« Reply #2 on: December 25, 2016, 01:43:42 AM »
Hi,
I've got a couple of weeks off from work and would luv to help. I live in New Zealand...and
have never been to Denver.

Forever Hopeful
Craig

PS while I would luv to help it is a joke!
'I enjoy sex at 73.....I live at 71 so its not too far to walk.'

Offline olf20

•  325 325
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 25, 2016, 07:34:18 AM »
I'm a long time user of M3. I just like you started from scratch.
The biggest help I received was to read the M3 manual. I can not
tell you how many times I have gone thru it.
Come up with something simple, in your line of work and produce
it. You will make tons of mistakes, but it will get you a step closer
to becoming experienced.
I think I have been working on my cnc mill for over 10 years and
still learn something every time I use it.