Hello Guest it is March 29, 2024, 07:37:38 AM

Author Topic: Mach3 turn spindle synch issues  (Read 4465 times)

Offline SPH

•  8 8
    • View Profile
Mach3 turn spindle synch issues
« on: August 02, 2015, 05:54:56 AM »
Hi everyone. I've been using mach3 for about 18 months now and so far have been able to find all the answers to my questions in the manual or on the forum. I've run into an issue I can't figure out though. On my lathe I can't seem to get my spindle synch working with threading. I've got a Hall effect sensor hooked up and my rpm displays correctly. When I run the threading wizard and make a part the thread cuts and each pass matches the previous one but, as best as I can tell, Mach is using the rpm set in the wizard rpm field rather than the actual rpm. It must be taking notice of the spindle pulse because it's giving me clean threads so it's starting each pass at the correct time. For example: I program a 1.5mm pitch thread and set the rpm field at 500. My lathe doesn't have a gear for 500 rpm, it's nearest is 420. I start the spindle in Mach and then switch the motor on (no relay at this point) the rpm dro reads 420. I hit run, it cuts, I get a nice clean thread that's nothing like 1.5mm pitch. Now, if I set the rpm to 420 in the wizard I get a thread that's very nearly perfect.

I've checked everything I can think of so i figure I'll throw it over to the crowd.

Cheers in advance

Offline SPH

•  8 8
    • View Profile
Re: Mach3 turn spindle synch issues
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2015, 06:11:35 AM »
A bit more info, gecko g540, 1.8 degree steppers coupled directly to a 2005 ballscrew, 400 steps per rev on the z axis. X is a 1605 geared 3:1 at 1200 steps per, just FYI.
Mach is set to mm native units.
« Last Edit: August 02, 2015, 06:25:32 AM by SPH »

Offline RICH

•  7,427 7,427
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2015, 07:54:14 AM »

Mach is using the rpm set in the wizard rpm field rather than the actual rpm