Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 10:07:58 PM

Author Topic: Mach3 / MaxNC Embedded Computer / & should I get into this at all?  (Read 2807 times)

Hello everyone.  I'm at the threshold of stepping into the world of machining and I thought I'd ask the advice of people who know what I'm getting into more than I.

I'm not a machinist, I'm an industrial designer, and I've always wanted to be able to prototype my own small part designs from 7075 & 6/4 ti, so I bought a 4 Axis MaxNC 10CLB with an Embedded Computer Unit.  I thought, I can draw parts in Inventor & Rhino, export them to acad dxf's or .stls or whatever, pull them into the CAM software, put em together, make the CNC programs, save em onto a compact flash card, pop the card in the mill, and mill some small parts!   Sounds great!

Except, the mill didn't come with any documentation or CAM software (gee thanks MaxNC!) and then the company vaporized.  So everything I've seen so far points to Mach3 being the next best solution, but after searching forums, youtube, other maxnc owners, etc, I have no idea if it's even possible to have Mach3 write a program for use with the Embedded Computer Unit.  How would it know what the boundaries of the mill are so it doesn't run itself into itself?  Maybe it's not supposed to?  Yep. I am clueless.  Time to start reading up...