Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 01:08:04 PM

Author Topic: home and limit setup questions  (Read 6007 times)

home and limit setup questions
« on: April 18, 2011, 04:56:43 PM »
Total noob, so bear with me please.

I'm making progress landing everything, motors and limits and such,

I'm running Mach 3 into a smooth stepper and then into a Gecko G540.

when I go to home  the machine it goes past the Z--/home limit till the Z axis binds.

If I jog the Z it reads and stops.

If I hit the Estop, and then reset it the Z it will act as if the Z home switch was made and continue to do the home routine, with the X axis moving to the limit then backing off then the Y axis does the same.

Also, If I jog into a limit switch, I have to shut the machine off and move the axis by rotating the ballscrew with a pair of pliers until it is off the limit before I can reset it, is there a way around that?

« Last Edit: April 18, 2011, 04:58:45 PM by Lemic »
Re: home and limit setup questions
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2011, 06:59:37 PM »
First be sure oyu have all the wiers set right in Ports and pins. Use the diagnostic screen and pus the switches with your finger, one at a  time and observe that correct LED lights for each function- note that the LEDs are labeled M1 M2 M3 instead of X Y Z. no good reason for that, it just is.

On the setttings screen ther eis a button for auto back off limits. Check it, it will let you jog slowly off a limit switch

This is all well explained in the Mach install manual
« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2011, 08:56:02 PM »
Thanks for the info Ron, I'll double check all that.

As far as a manual goes, I never recieved one with this machine when I bought it.

It's a project that someone else quit on.

this is how I have it wired so far
« Last Edit: April 18, 2011, 08:58:32 PM by Lemic »
« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2011, 09:58:26 PM »
Ok, it looks like a G540 driver, and thats a very good device. Also a smoothstepper.