Hello Guest it is April 18, 2024, 10:54:25 PM

Author Topic: Struggling with RS485 & Teco 7300CV  (Read 12797 times)

Struggling with RS485 & Teco 7300CV
« on: March 19, 2011, 02:42:06 AM »
I've read & re-read the articles .. I've tried copying other peoples settings & brains .. but I just can't seem to get modbus controlling the VFD.
I will admit I'm new to this, although I do have considerable computer experience. 
I'm using Serial w/ plug-in and a RS232 to RS485 converter straight out of the serial port. 
I can communicate with the VFD using the setup software that came with it.  I can read & write to output holding registers from the modbus test window but all I get are timeouts & VFD faults when trying to deal with coils.
I have a working brain (everything lights up as expected) 
I would gladly start from scratch if someone can help me set this thing working.

Attached is the VFD function code & memory map manual for those who know what their looking at.
Re: Struggling with RS485 & Teco 7300CV
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2011, 07:40:13 AM »
Hi,

Upload an image of the Mach3 Modbus setup screen. That i probably where the problem is.

Also you need to write a Brain to set the speed from the Mach3 speed variable.

Cheers,

Peter.
----------------------------------------------------
Homann Designs
http://www.homanndesigns.com
email: peter at homanndesigns.com
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2011, 10:17:58 AM »
Thanks Peter ..

I'm actually awaiting the arrival of a Homann ModIO which is in transit as we speak ..
I've been trying to get things set up with the 232 to 485 converter in the mean time ..

Screens are below ..
« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2011, 07:35:28 PM »
Hello GD:

Have you seen the free download " RS232 Analyzer.msi " program at www.commfront.com ?

I just downloaded it to play/practice learning more about my own Modbus setup. It sounds like a pretty powerful tool.

Regards,
John

« Reply #4 on: March 24, 2011, 10:18:04 PM »