Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 01:39:55 PM

Author Topic: Question about turning profiles and G-Code  (Read 4438 times)

Question about turning profiles and G-Code
« on: December 27, 2010, 08:42:47 PM »
Hello everyone!
I am putting together a cnc setup on an old lathe we use to re-profile railway wheels (pictures comming soon).  I am using Panasonic 3P 220V drivers and servos with a parallel breakout and Mach 3.  I was able to wire all of the connectors and setup the servos and Mach 3 without too many problems and I am at the point where I can input single lines of G-code to manually perform cuts.  I am new to mach 3 and CNC machining so please forgive me if this is a stupid question:  Is there a software I can use, where I can input the current profile of the wheel to be turned, then input the the desired final profile to be turned and have a cutting path g-code output generated taking into acount the radius of the insert (its a 1"r round cone shaped insert) and the max cutting depth in order to achieve the final profile?

Thanks!
Frank

Offline Hood

•  25,835 25,835
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
Re: Question about turning profiles and G-Code
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2010, 08:51:59 PM »
I have just purchased Dolphin CAD/CAM Turn module and its looking excellent. If you have a dxf of the before and after profiles then you could use them in Dolphin to do as you want. The "after" would be loaded as the main profile and the "before" would be loaded as the stock profile.
I am sure other CAM programmes can do this also but the special offer price Dolphin have on at the moment made it attractive to me, after all I am Scottish ;D

Hood
« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2010, 09:58:55 PM »