Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 04:17:47 PM

Author Topic: Tutorials?  (Read 4161 times)

Tutorials?
« on: December 16, 2010, 10:44:38 AM »
Hi Guys,
I am very new to the participation in the cnc world- but I know what it is and understand some of the basics. But, I am very newb and using the demo version for now. I just finished building my cnc machine and I am sort of stuck right now.

I am looking for some tutorials on getting started. The information in the pdf is very long and drawn out. I have been able to get everything calibrated just about dead on (off 1/64 in y over 17"- which is fine for now)

So I got the machine built, router mounted, mach3 demo installed, communication established between the hardware and software, machine calibrated, and can run gcode roadrunner in the air/with out a piece of wood

but after that I am stuck and I didnt find what I am looking for in the forums or pdf (but I didnt finish reading it)

I have a piece of 1/16 cardboard I was testing the roadrunner pattern on but I am not sure exactly what to do next, haha. I know how to run the gcode but what about setting up the tablespace and working media? Is there a tutorial on that? I didnt see settings like "setup workspace" , "setup table space." So, I drop z down to touch the cardboard and run the gcode.. the z goes down about an 8th of an inch and it draws the first line... raises up about 3/8 and continues the pattern... so I just end up with a single line of the roadrunner.. I'm doing something wrong >_<

Any tutorial links would be very helpful.. and an easy place to find them would be great.

Offline Tweakie.CNC

•  9,196 9,196
  • Super Kitty
    • View Profile
Re: Tutorials?
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2010, 04:41:21 AM »
Hi Talan,

I am sorry you have not yet received an answer to your question.