Hello Guest it is March 29, 2024, 01:22:17 AM

Author Topic: Speed for cast acrylic  (Read 7840 times)

Speed for cast acrylic
« on: September 11, 2010, 02:35:16 PM »
HI I am new to CNC so some of the terms are a bit strange to me.
Whats speeds am I supposed to use for cutting cast acrylic sheets. I am using 1/8 inch 12x16 sheet and I want to cut some gears out of this material I am using a CNC table that uses a dremel tool to cut with and I have a dremel bit that is numbered 111 and 113  it looks like and end mill bit I used to use about 20 years ago but it is about 1mm in diameter with cutting edges that run vertically from the tip to end of the cutting surface is about 1/4 inch this is all for the 111 the 113 is slight larger in diameter. I need something this small due to the fact that I will be making like I said gears with many teeth and not lot of circumference an example is 41 teeth and 1 1/2 inch diameter gear. I have experimented with the default setting and it seems to melt the acrylic I tried making .04167 depth cuts, 1/3 of the material, in my test. The cut material comes off in little molten globules, the finished cut seems to look OK all I tested so far was a circle but the edges looked, again, melted. I would prefer a simple dry edge cut powdery if that is possbile. I know there is the bit speed which is one of 10 settings on the dremel tool. and then there is the table speed. I was using the  fasted bit speed but the default mach 3 table speed which seemed a bit slow.

Also what do you think it will be for 1/8 to 1/4 balsa and plywood (for RC PLANES)
Jeff

Offline Hood

•  25,835 25,835
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
Re: Speed for cast acrylic
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2010, 07:59:28 PM »
Afraid I only work with metals so cant be of help but hopefully some of the router guys will be able to give you some pointers.
Welcome to the forum though :)

Hood

Offline Hood

•  25,835 25,835
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile