Hello Guest it is April 18, 2024, 07:11:10 PM

Author Topic: Requirements for new Sieg SX3 Build ?  (Read 6267 times)

Requirements for new Sieg SX3 Build ?
« on: September 07, 2010, 06:14:56 PM »
I'm new to Mach3 and new to the Forum.
I'm awaiting the delivery of my Sieg SX3 & Rotary Table, which will be converted to 4 Axis CNC with Mach3.
My CNC Wood Router runs TurboCNC, so I have  a little knowledge to start with, but I'm still on the bottom end of the Mach3 learning curve.

I know that the Minimum Computer requirement for Mach3 is; 1Ghz CPU, 512Mb Ram.
I have a 664 Mhz PIII CPU with 240Mb Ram which seems to check out OK using the 'Drivertest' routine found in the Mach3 Root Directory.
Does this mean that this Computer will run Mach3 OK, or am I missing something?

Secondly, I know the advantage of Ballscrews, but has anyone CNC'd an SX3 with the existing Leadscrews?
If so, what accuracy was achieved? Ballscrews will eventually be mounted when funds are available.

New Zealand

Offline Hood

•  25,835 25,835
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
Re: Requirements for new Sieg SX3 Build ?
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2010, 06:21:30 PM »
It will likely be ok but no real way to tell without running the machine. Drawback is anything like a large complex toolpath may push it over the edge, also you may find weird things occasionally happen which will make trouble shooting hard, so try and get a computer of min spec or more if you can.

Hood
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2010, 08:33:25 PM »
It will likely be OK but no real way to tell without running the machine. Drawback is anything like a large complex toolpath may push it over the edge, also you may find weird things occasionally happen which will make trouble shooting hard, so try and get a computer of min spec or more if you can.

Hood

Thanks for that, I was trying to keep my bigger Computer for other uses, but I guess I'll have to use it.