Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 05:56:14 PM

Author Topic: School me on tip radius.  (Read 7799 times)

School me on tip radius.
« on: January 12, 2011, 07:38:11 PM »
I'm making some parts now with LT. I love free CAM!!! However, I'm having a little problem with tip radius and how to use it. My parts are coming out to big. The radius of the parts are always the correct diameter of the part plus the tip radius.

Perhaps I'm zeroing the tool incorrectly. I'm zeroing the tool so that the tip of the tool touches the stock. I measure the stock and put the radius of the stock as the position that the tool is on the X axis.

I'm new to CNC turning so if I'm missing something obvious, please be gentle.

-Jim
« Last Edit: January 12, 2011, 07:41:28 PM by Kingjamez »

Offline RICH

•  7,427 7,427
    • View Profile
Re: School me on tip radius.
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2011, 10:24:23 PM »
Have a look in the manual, appendix "F" section 5.
LT assumes that the center of the tool tip is related to X & Z=0 and pre-compensates the code.
RICH

« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2011, 12:04:48 PM »
Hi  Rich, thanks for the help. I'm now able to get accurate diameters by offsetting the tool the radius of the tip.

Another issue has come up though. It seems as if LT compensates for tip radius on the final cuts, but not on the first pass.
To demonstrate, here is how to duplicate my issue:
Import a straight line that will result in a .5" diameter cylinder. Now set the stock size to 1" and use a tool with a 1/64" radius. Then set a roughing tool path with  0.025" per pass. The first roughing pass will be at X0.475 which would be correct with a 0 radius tool, but not correct with a 0.0156 radius tool that ends up making a first cut pass depth of 0.0406" in reality because of the offset of the tool radius.

My work around is to specify a diameter of my stock larger than it actually is by 2 radii of the cutter. That seems a little kludgy.