Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 08:43:54 AM

Author Topic: Z Axis Double Counting  (Read 3365 times)

Offline fhb

•  3 3
    • View Profile
Z Axis Double Counting
« on: May 08, 2010, 09:24:24 AM »
Hello,

Wondering if anyone can help. The Z axis on my lathe is double counting in radius mode and quadruple counting in diameter mode. i.e. if I measure the z axis movement 5mm actual, the display reads 10 in radius mode and 20 in diameter mode. The x axis is fine..? This problem just appeared this morning.

I'm a bit new to all of this so I would appreciate any help I can get....!!

Fraser.

Offline fhb

•  3 3
    • View Profile
Re: Z Axis Double Counting
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2010, 09:52:17 AM »
In addition to the above I have noticed that the tool path lines shown on the part display are above the stock and not below it as with the offline version of Mach3 I use. The carriages do move in the correct directions when a programme is run, however the diameters achieved on thepart are incorrect due to the above problem (I think)....all a bit strange and very frustrating.......

Offline fhb

•  3 3
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2010, 10:39:15 AM »
Sorry I'm talking rubbish....it's the x axis that's miss counting, the z axis is fine......I think I should stick to flower arranging and give this techy stuff a miss..!!!!!

Offline khalid

•  213 213
    • View Profile
    • My Wood carving
« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2010, 12:52:29 PM »
I think half the steps/unit setting for the troubled axis

Offline RICH

•  7,427 7,427
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: July 13, 2010, 04:27:37 PM »
Are the x axis steps per unit correct or double of what they whould be?

When in Machine coordinates the DRO's will display absolute values and always show the X distance in terms of a radius even
though you may be in diameter mode. So if you configure for radius mode then there should not be any confusion when you check it.