Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 05:28:49 AM

Author Topic: Using Bitmaps for 3D  (Read 15398 times)

Using Bitmaps for 3D
« on: May 29, 2010, 07:27:24 AM »
I'm looking into creating my 3D files with halftones.

I've been using ArtCam and Mach 3 for several years. Can I use a strategy like Carve Write to make my 3D files with Lazy Cam?

Offline RICH

•  7,427 7,427
    • View Profile
Re: Using Bitmaps for 3D
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2010, 07:15:29 PM »
Joe,
I see no replies to your post and unfortunately I can't be of much help either.
Maybe you can elaborate some and will get a response.
LazyCam is 2D....

RICH
« Reply #2 on: June 03, 2010, 06:03:53 AM »
Rich,

Thanks for the reply. Now I don't feel so lonely,

Here the direction I'm going. I know 3D carving can be done without the difficult process from ArtCam and Aspire. I've come to this conclusion by seeing one of my friends carving with the cheap little, entry level, Carv Write. I spoke to one of the artist using this machine. This photo comes from Doug Haffner who took the CSA and put it through his CW. The software, in the machine, reduces the color image down to a gray scale, with the limit of 250 shades. Then carves from that.

As Doug described it to me, the dark shades carve the deepest.

This seems like a much more simple way for some carving. Does anyone have experience with a software package up to this chore.

Joe Crumley
www.normansignco.com

Offline RICH

•  7,427 7,427
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 03, 2010, 08:42:18 AM »
Joe,
Just a suggestion, there are some folks doing lithopanes in here made from pictures , they can probably help you out some.
RICH
« Reply #4 on: June 03, 2010, 09:37:22 PM »
Rich,

Thanks for the suggestion The technology for lithophanes are in ArtCam and Aspire. That's not the right direction. I'm looking for a mesh or cloud technique. Thanks for the effort. I'll probably need to keep looking.

Joe Crumley
www.normansignco.com

Offline Tweakie.CNC

•  9,196 9,196