Hello Guest it is March 08, 2021, 05:13:44 AM

Author Topic: PWM Mach Settings  (Read 10592 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Jeff_Birt

*
  •  1,107 1,107
    • View Profile
    • Soigeneris
Re: PWM Mach Settings
« Reply #10 on: May 16, 2010, 02:09:35 PM »
As I understand it the PWM input on the G540 is optimized for 50 Hz. After reading through this thread again I guess I'm not sure what is not working right. Can you descibe the problems) you are seeing Dave?
Happy machining , Jeff Birt
 

Offline budman68

*
  • *
  •  2,354 2,354
    • View Profile
Re: PWM Mach Settings
« Reply #11 on: May 16, 2010, 02:18:01 PM »
Absolutely Jeff,

What I'm not seeing is any movement at all on the Machine PC. On my bench test, I have 3000 typed into the "speed" DRO in Mach 3 so when I hit the "spindle" button, it's starts up and increases until it hits the 3000 RPM as shown in the Speed DRO. I can increase it or decrease it with the Speed overide arrows perfectly.

When I connect this the same exact way on my main machine PC, I get no movement at all. Now keep in mind as I mentioned in my first post, the benchtest G540 is working perfectly, the Taig Lathe G540 which connected to my main machine PC is the one that shows no movement.

Thanks,
Dave

----------------------------------------------------------------------
Just because I'm a Global Moderator, don't assume that I know anything !

Dave->    ;)

Offline Jeff_Birt

*
  •  1,107 1,107
    • View Profile
    • Soigeneris
Re: PWM Mach Settings
« Reply #12 on: May 16, 2010, 03:05:17 PM »
Have you tried entering S3000 into the MDI line first? I'm not sure if doing that and entering it in the speed DRO do the same thing (they 'should') but it woudl be worth trying. Can you use a volt meter and measure the voltage at the VFD output pin on the G540?
Happy machining , Jeff Birt
 

Offline budman68

*
  • *
  •  2,354 2,354
    • View Profile
Re: PWM Mach Settings
« Reply #13 on: May 16, 2010, 04:08:49 PM »
Ok, tried the S3000 and nothing either so I decided to try a bit of troubleshooting some more here. I have a feeling my G540 may have some issues after checking the VFD outputs but I'll see what you all think.

When the spindle was off, the pins checked as:

7+8 =35 mV
8+9 =38 mV
7+9 =0 mV

Spindle on at 3000 RPM:

NO Change at all.  :-\

So I think I'll switch out the G540 with the one that I bench tested (that worked) and see what the result is from that.

I hate troubleshooting.....  :(  ;D

Thanks again-
Dave
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Just because I'm a Global Moderator, don't assume that I know anything !

Dave->    ;)

Offline budman68

*
  • *
  •  2,354 2,354
    • View Profile
Re: PWM Mach Settings
« Reply #14 on: May 16, 2010, 04:33:50 PM »
Of course, I was getting ready to pull the benchtest G540 apart, and decided to test the pins on that but that reads basically the same way with no change whether the spindle is on or off, so I don't have a clue.

What pins and voltages should I be checking and looking for?

Thanks,
Dave
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Just because I'm a Global Moderator, don't assume that I know anything !

Dave->    ;)

Offline budman68

*
  • *
  •  2,354 2,354
    • View Profile
Re: PWM Mach Settings
« Reply #15 on: May 16, 2010, 05:07:17 PM »
Just to update with more info I thought of, the voltage measurements taken on the G540 were with the wires disconnected from the MC60 controller.

The MC60 controller does indeed have 11.9 Volts coming out of it (at the potentiometer connections) as it should, which according to Mariss and Peter, should be fine to use with the G540.

Dave
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Just because I'm a Global Moderator, don't assume that I know anything !

Dave->    ;)

Offline Jeff_Birt

*
  •  1,107 1,107
    • View Profile
    • Soigeneris
Re: PWM Mach Settings
« Reply #16 on: May 16, 2010, 05:16:55 PM »
You do need to have the speed controller hooked up before you will get any voltage output from the G540.
Happy machining , Jeff Birt
 

Offline budman68

*
  • *
  •  2,354 2,354
    • View Profile
Re: PWM Mach Settings
« Reply #17 on: May 16, 2010, 05:21:52 PM »
Ok, then isn't that going to just show what the controller is putting out?

Which pins should I check for you? And which will be the positive probe? I just want to be sure to do this right to get the correct info for you.

Thanks, Jeff-
Dave
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Just because I'm a Global Moderator, don't assume that I know anything !

Dave->    ;)

Offline Jeff_Birt

*
  •  1,107 1,107
    • View Profile
    • Soigeneris
Re: PWM Mach Settings
« Reply #18 on: May 16, 2010, 08:45:48 PM »
The G540 'output' does not actually output its own signal! It only gives you back a percentage of what you put in on Pin 7 (-) and Pin 9 (+), the percentage is based on the PWM of course. The easiest place to measure is probably between the black and white wires on the speed control which correspond to pins 7&8 on the G540. You should see the voltage change in proportion of the spindle speed. It might also be a good idea to check across pins 7&9 to see what input voltage you have.
Happy machining , Jeff Birt
 

Offline budman68

*
  • *
  •  2,354 2,354
    • View Profile
Re: PWM Mach Settings
« Reply #19 on: May 16, 2010, 09:06:42 PM »
Hi Jeff,

I completey realize that, and as mentioned above, the MC60 is putting out 11.9V into the G540. I will have a look at that again tomorrow for you and let you know what I find.

Thanks,
Dave
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Just because I'm a Global Moderator, don't assume that I know anything !

Dave->    ;)