Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 09:21:13 AM

Author Topic: ANY CAM packages that work well with Alibre Design and Mach 3?  (Read 10062 times)

ANY CAM packages that work well with Alibre Design and Mach 3?
« on: February 18, 2010, 12:13:57 AM »
Hi,

I'm just starting out with CNC and was wondering if theres anyone using the same equipment as me who could recommend some CAM software.
I have Alibre Design drawing software- no CAM software yet - and Mach3. Its connected to a Sieg X3 with  promica 3 axis CNC kit.

Alibre have a CAM package but its $2200 and seems to be getting mixed reviews, especially regarding support.
Is there something out there for $1000 or less that would allow some 4 axis milling?

Id like to have a go at making some acrylic pens and engraving text and patterns onto the bodies.

Thanks for any advice you may have :-)
Re: ANY CAM packages that work well with Alibre Design and Mach 3?
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2010, 05:35:58 PM »
That's the trouble with a niche market, sky high prices.

There are cheap packages but software not so good and poor support.

Just the 4th axis for mine is $4000

Maybe you could pay someone to do the cam once you have designed it

Phil
The Good Thing About Mach3, Is It's very Configurable

The Bad Thing About Mach3, Is It's Too Configurable
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2010, 09:19:37 PM »
Hi Phil,
Im pretty keen to do the whole lot, should keep me out of trouble for a while :-)
There do seem to be a lot of CAM products out there, just need some advice about which one works well with Alibre.
If necessary I can just get the Alibre cam, although Vectric's cut 3d may be a good place to start, or visual mill which is listed online $200 less than the Alibre Version, which apparently the alibre cam is based on.
what are you using?

Offline ger21

•  6,295 6,295
    • View Profile
    • The CNC Woodworker
« Reply #3 on: February 19, 2010, 09:57:10 PM »
MeshCAM can do what Cut3d does + indexed 4th axis. www.meshcam.com