Hello Guest it is March 29, 2024, 11:18:35 AM

Author Topic: Spindle won't run, flashes yellow?  (Read 9258 times)

Offline RICH

•  7,427 7,427
    • View Profile
Re: Spindle won't run, flashes yellow?
« Reply #10 on: January 12, 2010, 04:53:35 PM »
I will repost later on the motor tuning and settings, got to go.
Amazing what you find after RTFM, but then depends on what manual you read. ;)
Later,
RICH

Offline Hood

•  25,835 25,835
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
« Reply #11 on: January 12, 2010, 05:38:32 PM »
I have no experience with the PP and spindle setup, I do know it said to set Vel as revs per second but when I did that with the SS it was 60 times to slow ;D

Hood

Offline RICH

•  7,427 7,427
    • View Profile
« Reply #12 on: January 12, 2010, 10:52:51 PM »
READING THE MANUAL:   :) I can write but not read !  :D

In the Mach3 CNC Controller - Software and Installation Configuration Manual section page 5-29 section 5.5.5.3 you will find instructions on how to set the steps per unit. For a 1.8 degree stepper ( 200 steps ) and 10u steps you
would have a "steps per unit" ( pulses required  for one rev of spindle ) of 2000 x 135 (total  gear reduction in my case )=270000 for the input in motor tuning.

The velocity setting in motor tuning should be in "revs per second"  at full speed as Hood mentioned. I know the max reliable rpm for mine is around 10 rpm, then 10/60= 0.1666. When tried, the spindle turned extremely slow.  :-\
So input 10 ( 10 revs per minute) and spindle speed was correct.
Is the manual wrong?  ???

CONFIG>Pulley Selection - there is only one pulley, so to speak, for this kind of setup, so for pulley number 1
                                     O min   10 max   ratio 1

So i could measure / test the indicated RPM in the DRO ( make sure the spindle pulley is 1, lathe screen here) the configuration was changed as follows: