Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 02:13:34 PM

Author Topic: COM API  (Read 5135 times)

Offline TonyG

•  12 12
    • View Profile
COM API
« on: November 13, 2009, 05:14:33 PM »
My company purchased a desktop CNC machine and a copy of Mach 3 to use for some automated testing.  I need to write a program that controls the stepper motor positions and captures some data from our sensor.  I'm a software programmer and don't know anything about CNC machines or G-Code (other than what little research I've done today).  I found one message one this forum where someone talked about using VB.NET to send commands via the "COM API", but I couldn't find any other references to the API or to controlling the unit with external software.

Can someone point to a reference manual, sample code, etc. that shows how I can interact with Mach 3 programmatically to do what I need?  I'm not really picky about how it gets done since this is for research use only, not production.  For example, I'd be OK with writing out a G-Code script file and then executing Mach 3 with a command call if that's possible.

Offline poppabear

•  2,235 2,235
  • Briceville, TN, USA
    • View Profile
Re: COM API
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2009, 05:39:04 PM »
There are many ways to do that kind of stuff, you need to state WHAT you want done, and where data captured to? etc.

scott
fun times

Offline TonyG

•  12 12
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2009, 05:47:04 PM »
Basically we need to move a stylus across a flat touch panel surface.  The stylus will be mounted to the Z axis arm with a spring-loaded mechanism so we can move it around easily.  The test program will move the stylus around in a general back-and-forth pattern.  For example:

1) Start at a particular X,Y location
2) Move 3in to the right
3) Move 0.5in down
4) Move 3in to the left
5) Move 0.5in down