Hello Guest it is April 18, 2024, 03:41:10 PM

Author Topic: Need help with resonance problem  (Read 7833 times)

Need help with resonance problem
« on: November 04, 2009, 05:42:17 PM »
Hello all,

I've converted a Grizzly wood lathe to CNC by adding some scrounged actuators with step motors.  I'm having a problem with the Z-axis.  It gets a few steps out of sync with Mach3 and starts cutting where it shouldn't.  In a run of 15 minutes it gets off maybe as much as a dozen steps.  Computer is fine.  Electronics is fine.  These are my background and I wish the problem was here because I could deal with it.  It's not.  It's mechanical.

I slowed the Z-axis *waaay* down to speed of 25 and acceleration of 2 and the problem went away.  So, now I have to figure out how to identify the resonance and how to deal with it.  This is an area I have no experience in.  Can someone point me to a recipe or tutorial on how to identify, measure and compensate for resonance?  I'm hoping I don't have to do this by trial and error because that could take forever.

Now, there's a Lovejoy-style coupler between the step motor and leadscrew.  I'm suspicious of the rubber spider between the two halves.  Seems to me that this could exacerbate resonance problems.   The leadscrew is almost 30" long and at least 1/2" dia., pretty massive.  The stepper's 1/4" shaft looks puny next to the leadscrew, and it is probably twisting under the torque and contributing also.  Would a larger stepper with a more robust shaft help?

Any help will be appreciated.

Dave
Re: Need help with resonance problem
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2009, 06:20:10 PM »