Hello Guest it is April 16, 2024, 06:36:12 PM

Author Topic: Auto Router On With Cycle Start  (Read 5262 times)

Auto Router On With Cycle Start
« on: September 01, 2009, 05:05:56 PM »
I am very new to CNC and am looking for feedback from the veterans. I am building a CNC router. I have the router connected to a solid state relay that is controlled by Output #1. I had planned to edit the g-code file to add the router on comand at the beginning of the file. However, why not use a Brain to turn the router on anytime cycle start is clicked? This should be no more "dangerous" than having the router power on when the command is embedded in the g-code. If I want to cut air as a test, I would disable the brain. Is there any reason not to take this approach?

Offline Hood

•  25,835 25,835
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
Re: Auto Router On With Cycle Start
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2009, 05:40:20 PM »
I dont like that idea, would catch me unawares sometime, I am sure of that. What I have is a real latching switch that is connected to the enable of my spindles servo drive and interupts the enable signal from Mach. That way any time I am near the spindle I disable it via the switch, you could do the same but just have the switch cutting out the signal from Mach to your relay.
I am presuming that is what you are wanting it for?
Hood
« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2009, 05:53:32 PM »
My purpose for the relay is so that I can have Mach turn the router on when it starts a job. I had planned to put an M3 command at the beginning of the G-Code file to do that. However, rather than edit this command into the file, I thought why not have a Brain turn the router on for me anytime I perform a cycle start. The router has an on/off switch, so I will turn that off anytime I am changing bits.