Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 12:02:53 PM

Author Topic: Help with verify button  (Read 8197 times)

Offline RonC

•  32 32
    • View Profile
Help with verify button
« on: March 08, 2009, 02:04:42 PM »
Hi guys
This is my first post so I hope I get things right
I am a 60 year old newbie, and have just got my mill up and running with Mach3. I have made a few simple parts, still amazed at watching the machine do its own thing! I am having a problem
where it seems that the machine is losing steps in the X direction, IE. one side of the part is smooth and the other side is stepped. It seems that as the programme comes to the point where
the down feed occurs it is short of the X position by a few thou. hence the steps on one side. When I tried using the Verify button all the axis start moving towards the home switches, but as soon as the X axis hits its home switch all the axis reverse for a short distance and then stop, the X & Y axis never reference, and the readings at the bottom of the screen are meaningless.
I have a switch on each axis wired in series acting as home and limit, could this be a problem?
Any help would be much appreciated.
Thanks
RonC
Re: Help with verify button
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2009, 05:16:26 PM »
Ron, can't help you with the home and limit switch question, but I have had similar cuts (one side of part smooth and the other side showing steps (wedding cake tiers).  In my case my table was out of true by about .002 or .003 (running inch mode) over six inches.  Taking .010 cuts in a .375 piece of material would produce at least 3 tiers.

Since my mill is Taig with a nonadjustable (on the Y axis) headstock column (without taking it apart and hoping for a better fit after cleaning and reassembling), I made a cutting plate (3/4 inch aluminum)  I was able to shim this plate and true it to the the cutting quill.  Smooth cuts from front to back have been achieved.