Hello Guest it is April 16, 2024, 02:54:52 PM

Author Topic: MY old lathe is still OLD ( would love to CNC her )  (Read 8355 times)

MY old lathe is still OLD ( would love to CNC her )
« on: July 21, 2006, 06:05:48 AM »
hi guys

OK , i see one familiar name in this forum and his a Aussie like me.

but the true run down is im a motor mechanic and have some free time on my hands

I love drag racing and have a few fast cars  ;) and i want to go faster , presently building a 1200Bhp plus turbo 6 cylinder 4 litre falcon E series motor. will find out  if i make the horse power once i get it on the heenan and froude  engine  dyno i run at work.

I'm in the process of contemplating converting this old copy lathe to a CNC_lathe . I know it will not be good and fast as some of the CNC_machines out there in the market place like the Okuna's , Mazak' , Puma's , Hitachi Seiki's , Mori Seiki's  and Pinnacle's and the list is endless.

But if i had the cash i wouldn't hesitate to buy a MIlling center and a lathe in cnc setup. Maybe  in a few years time

It's more a hobby at this stage for me , i want to be able to make my own parts at a slow pace .

i see a great deal of knowledgeable people in here and cnczone.com and many other good websites.

so here it goes i have this lathe and  have attached several pictures of it  , it is a very robust unit so rigidity is not a issue.

Will have to make all the brackets and adapter to couple the stepper motors to the lathe. This is not a issue as i have other lathes and mills at  work. But the problem is im new to electronics and CNC is not my strong point. Some sort of guidance would be appreciated as to the approach i take on  doing this conversion .

Yes some may say its a big machine  but i thought why do a bench top lathe when i can start on the big lathe and be done with it .

Its just a larger version of the small bench top unit and i want to be able to turn some bigger parts than what the limits of the bench top lathe will permit.