Hello Guest it is March 18, 2024, 10:04:09 PM

Author Topic: DXF files, 0,0 and Mach3  (Read 6818 times)

DXF files, 0,0 and Mach3
« on: December 23, 2005, 09:09:04 PM »
Hi all, newbie here and have a question.  Just started using Mach3 and probably don’t know enough to ask the right question to solve the problem, but here goes…If this isn’t the right place for the answer, let me know.
The problem I’m having is were 0,0 ends up when the G-code is generated. 
Started importing DXF files into Mach3 for profiling and such.  When I draw the 2D part in AutoCAD 2000LT I place 0,0 (World) at some logical location such as the center of a hole or edge of a feature.
When the file is imported into Mach3, I tell it to optimize it.  When the G-code is generated, 0,0 ends up at some point away from the part (usually a short distance in the –y and –x direction) and the first move is toward  the feature edge.  This is great to look at and watch the tool path, but I have no idea where the 0,0 point is on my mill table in relation to the tool (z-0,0). 
The work around for me so far is to calculate the first (start) point in the G-code. Then move the part relative to the tool and the mill table using my non-MAch3 DRO and starting the G-code from there.  There has to be a better way.
It would be nice if I could tell Mach3 where to put 0,0 (such as where it was in the cad file).  What am I missing here.  How do I control where 0,0 is?
Thanks in advance,
Tadd
Tadd
MIL-TFP41

Offline DAlgie

•  314 314
    • View Profile
    • Algie Composite Aircraft
Re: DXF files, 0,0 and Mach3
« Reply #1 on: December 24, 2005, 04:27:54 PM »
Sounds like you are not actually using world as your UCS, you said you were placing 0,0 at some logical position, you can't move world in Acad, you have to move the drawing to world. If you were placing your UCS somewhere then it's not the world UCS.
« Reply #2 on: December 24, 2005, 06:21:37 PM »
Hello again,