Machsupport Forum

Mach Discussion => General Mach Discussion => Topic started by: djjaroo on October 10, 2008, 09:07:30 AM

Title: help Me
Post by: djjaroo on October 10, 2008, 09:07:30 AM
Welcome
I have problem I can not correct tool Y  cuts out me about thickness of tool  on axis for little and X how I have this to put because I sit already 3 day over this :{{
Title: Re: help Me
Post by: Hood on October 10, 2008, 09:14:21 AM
please give more information about your machine, what kind of drives and motors, breakout etc, the more info you can supply the easier it will be to help you.
Hood
Title: Re: help Me
Post by: djjaroo on October 10, 2008, 09:17:51 AM
screws ball jump 5 mm prostate engines 200 degrees put on 1/2 driver
Title: Re: help Me
Post by: Hood on October 10, 2008, 09:21:23 AM
with that information your steps per unit should be set to 80, is that what you have?

Hood
Title: Re: help Me
Post by: djjaroo on October 10, 2008, 09:24:00 AM
I have  put on 80 and it  about thickness of tool is for little still
Title: Re: help Me
Post by: Hood on October 10, 2008, 09:27:26 AM
Are you set in metric units? Try putting G21 in the MDI before you make your move. If that is not working then what exactly are you doing to make your motor move, ie what code and when it stops do you hear any noise from the motor when it stops.

Hood
Title: Re: help Me
Post by: djjaroo on October 10, 2008, 09:36:21 AM
I have not configured programme  now I  made without schedule of tools and the same goes out that is I do something ┬┐le from schedule but what ??

Title: Re: help Me
Post by: Hood on October 10, 2008, 09:42:36 AM
sorry dont understand what you are meaning :(

Hood
Title: Re: help Me
Post by: djjaroo on October 10, 2008, 09:46:26 AM
I have bad configured  waves tool
Title: Re: help Me
Post by: Hood on October 10, 2008, 10:15:21 AM
sorry still dont understand, hopefully someone else will manage to figure out what you are meaning.
hood
Title: Re: help Me
Post by: djjaroo on October 10, 2008, 11:07:38 AM
so to draw fly larger drawings ??
Title: Re: help Me
Post by: fer_mayrl on October 10, 2008, 01:01:27 PM
I sorry to say that i am having trouble understanding you too.

But from the little i picked up, i think your problem is compensating for the diameter of your tool.

Say you cut a 100mm x 100mm square and your gcode looks something like this.

F300
G01 X100
G01 Y100
G01 X0
G01 Y0

This will move the center of your cutting tool drawing a 100mm square.
Now if your tool measures... say 10mm in diameter... well your 100mm square will become a 90mm square.

You need to compensate for the tool diameter in your gcode. if you are writing your gcode by hand, then compensate by hand, otherwise any descent CAM software will do it for you.

Hope this is what you are meaning.
Regards
Fernando
Title: Re: help Me
Post by: djjaroo on October 10, 2008, 01:17:37 PM
this is my g - cod and it wants to get in centre unit

N0005 G90
N0010 G21
N0015 G00 Z25.00
N0020 G00 X109.575 Y7.650
N0025 G01 Z-0.10
N0030 G01 X109.575 Y53.100
N0035 G01 X109.575 Y53.100
N0040 G01 X129.275 Y53.100
N0045 G01 X128.100 Y68.100
N0050 G01 X126.425 Y82.425
N0055 G01 X123.100 Y93.100
N0060 G01 X118.100 Y108.100
N0065 G01 X106.425 Y128.100
N0070 G01 X96.425 Y139.750
N0075 G01 X83.100 Y148.100
N0080 G01 X68.100 Y154.750
N0085 G01 X53.100 Y156.425
N0090 G01 X30.800 Y157.650
N0095 G01 X4.275 Y157.650
N0100 G01 X4.275 Y80.375
N0105 G01 X14.900 Y80.375
N0110 G01 X14.900 Y7.650
N0115 G01 X109.575 Y7.650
N0120 G00 Z25.00
N0125 G00 X109.575 Y7.650
N0130 G01 Z-0.10
N0135 G01 X109.575 Y53.100
N0140 G01 X109.575 Y53.100
N0145 G01 X129.275 Y53.100
N0150 G01 X128.100 Y68.100
N0155 G01 X126.425 Y82.425
N0160 G01 X123.100 Y93.100
N0165 G01 X118.100 Y108.100
N0170 G01 X106.425 Y128.100
N0175 G01 X96.425 Y139.750
N0180 G01 X83.100 Y148.100
N0185 G01 X68.100 Y154.750
N0190 G01 X53.100 Y156.425
N0195 G01 X30.800 Y157.650
N0200 G01 X4.275 Y157.650
N0205 G01 X4.275 Y80.375
N0210 G01 X14.900 Y80.375
N0215 G01 X14.900 Y7.650
N0220 G01 X109.575 Y7.650
N0225 G00 Z25.00
N0230 G00 X109.575 Y7.650
N0235 G01 Z-0.10
N0240 G01 X109.575 Y53.100
N0245 G01 X109.575 Y53.100
N0250 G01 X129.275 Y53.100
N0255 G01 X128.100 Y68.100
N0260 G01 X126.425 Y82.425
N0265 G01 X123.100 Y93.100
N0270 G01 X118.100 Y108.100
N0275 G01 X106.425 Y128.100
N0280 G01 X96.425 Y139.750
N0285 G01 X83.100 Y148.100
N0290 G01 X68.100 Y154.750
N0295 G01 X53.100 Y156.425
N0300 G01 X30.800 Y157.650
N0305 G01 X4.275 Y157.650
N0310 G01 X4.275 Y80.375
N0315 G01 X14.900 Y80.375
N0320 G01 X14.900 Y7.650
N0325 G01 X109.575 Y7.650
N0330 G00 Z25.00
N0335 G00 X109.575 Y7.650
N0340 G01 Z-0.10
N0345 G01 X109.575 Y53.100
N0350 G01 X109.575 Y53.100
N0355 G01 X129.275 Y53.100
N0360 G01 X128.100 Y68.100
N0365 G01 X126.425 Y82.425
N0370 G01 X123.100 Y93.100
N0375 G01 X118.100 Y108.100
N0380 G01 X106.425 Y128.100
N0385 G01 X96.425 Y139.750
N0390 G01 X83.100 Y148.100
N0395 G01 X68.100 Y154.750
N0400 G01 X53.100 Y156.425
N0405 G01 X30.800 Y157.650
N0410 G01 X4.275 Y157.650
N0415 G01 X4.275 Y80.375
N0420 G01 X14.900 Y80.375
N0425 G01 X14.900 Y7.650
N0430 G01 X109.575 Y7.650
N0435 G00 Z25.00
N0440 G00 X109.575 Y7.650
N0445 G01 Z-0.10
N0450 G01 X109.575 Y53.100
N0455 G01 X109.575 Y53.100
N0460 G01 X129.275 Y53.100
N0465 G01 X128.100 Y68.100
N0470 G01 X126.425 Y82.425
N0475 G01 X123.100 Y93.100
N0480 G01 X118.100 Y108.100
N0485 G01 X106.425 Y128.100
N0490 G01 X96.425 Y139.750
N0495 G01 X83.100 Y148.100
N0500 G01 X68.100 Y154.750
N0505 G01 X53.100 Y156.425
N0510 G01 X30.800 Y157.650
N0515 G01 X4.275 Y157.650
N0520 G01 X4.275 Y80.375
N0525 G01 X14.900 Y80.375
N0530 G01 X14.900 Y7.650
N0535 G01 X109.575 Y7.650
N0540 G00 Z25.00
N0545 G00 X109.575 Y7.650
N0550 G01 Z-0.10
N0555 G01 X109.575 Y53.100
N0560 G01 X109.575 Y53.100
N0565 G01 X129.275 Y53.100
N0570 G01 X128.100 Y68.100
N0575 G01 X126.425 Y82.425
N0580 G01 X123.100 Y93.100
N0585 G01 X118.100 Y108.100
N0590 G01 X106.425 Y128.100
N0595 G01 X96.425 Y139.750
N0600 G01 X83.100 Y148.100
N0605 G01 X68.100 Y154.750
N0610 G01 X53.100 Y156.425
N0615 G01 X30.800 Y157.650
N0620 G01 X4.275 Y157.650
N0625 G01 X4.275 Y80.375
N0630 G01 X14.900 Y80.375
N0635 G01 X14.900 Y7.650
N0640 G01 X109.575 Y7.650
N0645 G00 Z25.00
N0650 G00 X0 Y0
N0655 M30
Title: Re: help Me
Post by: fer_mayrl on October 10, 2008, 01:27:33 PM
Im sorry then,
I cant understand...
Title: Re: help Me
Post by: djjaroo on October 10, 2008, 02:17:28 PM
my to be low - cut not after G40 only external contour
Title: Re: help Me
Post by: Don Faso Aviation on October 10, 2008, 04:31:20 PM
Hi! My name is Julio and I've adopted my late father's nickname: "Don Faso" . He was a humble man with a big, noble heart and appreciated by everybody all over the city. In Puerto Rico where I come from, as well as in other Hispanic countries, the title "Don" is for a very respectable mature person of any social class. We don't follow the Italian meaning of it. I am disabled with traumatic brain injury after being a teacher in P. R. and the U.S. for 18 years. I am barely starting with CNC and it's an uphill battle for me because of my limitations. I am commited to doing it to help the family's budget and help me build an R/C flying model in foam of a circular wing airplane I want to test and patent. I need help understanding what the Machsupport website says that for Mach 3 to be supported in a laptop with a parrallel port (that's all I have and can afford) it has to use one of the external controllers in their PLUGINS section. If that's the case, which is the best controller for a Dell Latitude D630? I'll appreciate your help so very much!!!
Title: Re: help Me
Post by: Hood on October 10, 2008, 06:11:51 PM
Don, you may get away with using the laptop with the parallel port, some work some dont, try it and see. Not sure on the specs of that laptop you have though, if its under a 1Gig processor you may struggle.
 I personally would recomend the SmoothStepper if you decide to go the external hardware route but again there is no 100% guarantee your laptop will work but I have not heard of one so far that doesnt work with the SmoothStepper.

Hood
Title: Re: help Me
Post by: RICH on October 10, 2008, 06:41:26 PM
Hood,
Attached is a dxf and screen shot of djjaroo's gCode he posted.
Should be of help in the communications.
RICH
Title: Re: help Me
Post by: RICH on October 10, 2008, 07:01:38 PM
djjroo,
Are you trying to cut an outside contour of what is pictured?
Title: Re: help Me
Post by: Don Faso Aviation on October 10, 2008, 09:36:04 PM
Thank you, Hood! I'm certainly going to look into that!
Title: Re: help Me
Post by: jimpinder on October 11, 2008, 03:56:05 AM
Rich - I got the same picture, and the program seems to repeat 4 or 5 times. The maximum cut is 25 mm, and the size is 130mm by 160 so it would appear to be wood (if that is english)

It must be a tool diaameter compensation query

Djjroo -

If you have your cutter tools entered in the tool table, with all the radius/diameters, them

G40 - Cancels compensation
G41 - Compensation left
G42 - Compensation right

Enter the code where you want the machine to apply compensation. The machine must be away from the job, and, after you have applied the compensation, the tool must move to the work, to allow compensation to be added.



Title: Re: help Me
Post by: fer_mayrl on October 11, 2008, 07:50:52 AM
Im not sure but, was tool diameter compensation implemented without bugs in mach?

Don Fasso,
Welcome to the wonderful and addictive world of CNC, Im sure you will be able to find all the information you need and more in this forum.
As a recommendation:
1. DO read, read and read some more, Start with the mach manual available in the documentation page under the support drop down menu, then go through the forum when you have a specific question, you can use the search function to help you find what you need.
2. see the video tutorials
3. I recommend starting your own thread for posting something new, unless it is relevant to some other thread already in the forum you can post there, two reasons for this: it is not polite to hijack someone elses thread with some other subject, and you will most likely get more help if you post a clear thread subject regarding your question or comment. For example the subject on this thread "Help Me" does not say anything about what would be in the thread, not to be rude, but people that know their stuff(theres a lot of them to mention them) and that actually take their time to help people, do not have the time to go through every thread to see if they can help, so clear subjects related to the post are better.
4. I recommend that if you are new at this whole cnc thing, not just the mach software, join the cnczone forum as well, there is a lot of information there to help us all, as well as a lot of people willing to help.
5. take care, be careful, safety first.
6. enjoy the ride.

regards

Fernando
Title: Re: help Me
Post by: Don Faso Aviation on October 11, 2008, 10:54:11 AM
THANK YOU, FERNANDO!! I will keep your recommendations in mind. The fact of the matter is that life has literally thrown me into a crash course in computers, CNC, chat rooms, etc. etc. when I'm suffering from traumatic brain injury and I saw my first real computer when I was 25!!. Talk about major overload!! I literally have to take naps A.M. and P.M. to cope. But I have this ridiculous big faith and dumb pit bull commitment to move ahead in life. My apologies to whom it may concern, I didn't mean to be rude or hijack anything. I hate terrorists anyway! I don't know if I should start a thread on using a laptop for CNC or if there's already one going. Please help me.
Title: Re: help Me
Post by: djjaroo on October 11, 2008, 11:01:42 AM
jimpinder -
so tool goes with centre of  line  drawn and it has to go beside line
Title: Re: help Me
Post by: fer_mayrl on October 11, 2008, 07:45:18 PM
Yes jjaroo,
when you code by hand, or with a cam software that does not have tool compensation (easy to recognize if they do not ask for tool diameter) the lines traced will be where the center of the cutting tool will move. You have 3 or 4 choices:
1. Code by hand taking this offset in consideration.
2. use a cam software that supports tool compensation.
3. draw your part again in your cam software and just offset the profile by half the tool diameter, and use the CAM program to generate your code again.
4. I dont know if the Gcodes for tool offset were completely implemented, but as jimpindler stated, use the
G40 for the tool center ride on the line.
G41 for your tool to ride on the left of the line
G42 for your tool to ride on the right of the line
assuming you have the diameter already set up inside mach in the tool tables.

cheers
Title: Re: help Me
Post by: fer_mayrl on October 11, 2008, 07:50:48 PM
Don Faso,
A quick search in the forum with the keywords laptop AND mach returns quite a few hits, on the first page two threads with information specific to your question:

How to run Mach from a laptop
http://www.machsupport.com/forum/index.php/topic,8420.0.html

Laptop requirements with Mach 3
http://www.machsupport.com/forum/index.php/topic,5981.0.html

Regards
Fernando
Title: Re: help Me
Post by: Don Faso Aviation on October 11, 2008, 10:31:37 PM
There are certainly a lot of hits in the "laptop and Mach 3" search but you pointed me into something a lot mole specific to my problem and I appreciate that very much. Not being good with computers, on my own I would be at a total loss trying to decide from all that what specifically applies to me. I didn't come here to be a bother but I'm not ashamed to admit that I may need to be led by the hand sometimes. When in good health, I devoted 80% of my life to helping others, so I know I have "equity in the bank of life".
Title: Re: help Me
Post by: djjaroo on October 12, 2008, 05:09:43 AM
And how does this act on bows , wheels ??
Thanks, Djjaroo