Machsupport Forum

Mach Discussion => General Mach Discussion => Topic started by: yahuie on April 01, 2008, 03:17:58 PM

Title: M5, M3 and Estop issues
Post by: yahuie on April 01, 2008, 03:17:58 PM
Hi,

This Shizouka I am retrofitting has a built in motor control panel consisting of a number of relays.  It is designed to take momentary M3, M4, and M5 commands.  So when mach outputs a steady signal for M3 and M4, and no signal for M5, it causes some issues.  My first step in dealing with this was to use a normally open, normally closed relay between the mach signal and the motor control panel.  This works for controlling the motor, but screws up the estop circuit (built into the motor control panel) which is a normally closed circuit.  I purchased some interval relays to change the signals going from the relay to the motor control panel to momentary and am going to try that.  Is there a way to change the way mach sends out M3 and M5 commands to momentary signals on separate pins?

Thanks,

Bill
Title: Re: M5, M3 and Estop issues
Post by: Hood on April 01, 2008, 05:22:44 PM
Yes, just need to write your own M3, M4 and M5 macros to replace the ones already in the macro folder of your profile
Hood
Title: Re: M5, M3 and Estop issues
Post by: Hood on April 01, 2008, 05:27:01 PM
Heres what I have in a button that I press to reset the servo drive on my lathe

ActivateSignal(OutPut4)
code"G4P.5"
While Ismoving
Wend
DeActivateSignal(OutPut4)


If you had that in the M3 macro it would activate Output 4 for 0.5 seconds then deactivate it.
Hood
Title: Re: M5, M3 and Estop issues
Post by: yahuie on April 01, 2008, 07:08:33 PM
Cool!

I have figured out another solution, but that will be awesome for other stuff.  I think I'm going to try out the auto tool height macro.

Thanks a lot!

Bill