Machsupport Forum

Mach Discussion => General Mach Discussion => Topic started by: faby on November 15, 2007, 08:42:56 AM

Title: EStop problem/question
Post by: faby on November 15, 2007, 08:42:56 AM
I installed a new Emergency Stop button and connected to pin 11 (LPT), it's set as normally closed, so current flow untill an emergency occur.

In "ports and pin" windows I set anything to work with it, but mach 3 don't restore from emergency status.
In the "diagnosctic" screen, anything seems to work fine, emergency is disengaged... but mach doesn't reset from emergency status.

if i invert the pin setting to "low active" it works, but i have to keep the button pressed for makes mach run.
In the status bar, it keeps to say "External EStop Requested"...

Where i miss?

Thanks for all and sorry for my english  ;D.

Fabiano
Title: Re: EStop problem/question
Post by: vmax549 on November 15, 2007, 10:00:33 AM
OK If set up correctly when you press the estop button MACH will shut down the movement processes. In order for mach to become active again you must release the estop switch to normal and then press restart on the screen. Mach will then become active again.

NOTE: Using a software ONLY approach to ESTOP is NOT a safe approach. ESTOP needs to do TWO things , STOP the processes in the software AND SHUT OFF the power to all drives. IF you were to end up with a runaway drive then NOTHING Mach is capable of doing will stop the runaway movement.

(;-) TP
Title: Re: EStop problem/question
Post by: faby on November 15, 2007, 11:06:15 AM
Ok EStop is released, but when I press Reset (big red button flashing) nothing happen, it doesn't restart.
I think you meant "Reset"  not "Restart" right? otherwise, where is Restart button?

Yes I know that it's not the right way, but I need this thing  because if one of the 3 drivers fault, it can open the emergency pin and then stop the other 2 drivers.

My button and all my connection works, because in the diagnostic screen there's a feedback of it.

Fabiano
Title: Re: EStop problem/question
Post by: vmax549 on November 15, 2007, 11:47:25 AM
OK let's start from the top.

YOu have an estop.  It is setup in ports and pins. Are the settings correct?? PORT and PIN #?

If you look on the diagnostics page do you see the pins go inactive (led off) when you press the button?

If you push the estop does the Reset(;-) button start to flash and MACH stops?

If you reset the estop button can you hit the reset button and  it stops flashing?

Do you have any other switch or device inline with the estop circuit??

(;-) TP
Title: Re: EStop problem/question
Post by: faby on November 15, 2007, 12:07:19 PM
> You have an estop.  It is setup in ports and pins. Are the settings correct?? PORT and PIN #?

Yes

> If you look on the diagnostics page do you see the pins go inactive (led off) when you press the button?

Yes

> If you push the estop does the Reset(;-) button start to flash and MACH stops?

The reset butto flash since I close Ports and pins config.

> If you reset the estop button can you hit the reset button and  it stops flashing?

nope

> Do you have any other switch or device inline with the estop circuit??

nope
Title: Re: EStop problem/question
Post by: faby on November 15, 2007, 12:22:06 PM
> If you look on the diagnostics page do you see the pins go inactive (led off) when you press the button?

The led is ON when the button is pressed... though my circuit is normally closed I tested is right now with a gauge
Title: Re: EStop problem/question
Post by: vmax549 on November 15, 2007, 01:09:15 PM
are you refering to the pinsport LED(green)  or the emergency LED(red)

Your should see a change of state on the green LED when you push the button. That change of state should stay untill you reset the switch then it should change back to the original state.

WHen you push the estop it should change state on the green LED AND turn on the red emergency LED(flashes).
When you reset the estop the Green LED should change states back to normal and the red emergency led should turn off
  This leaves the reset button on the screen flashing and MACH in an off condition. If you push the reset button on the screen MACH should then come back to normal.

Are all these conditions true on you r machine?
Title: Re: EStop problem/question
Post by: vmax549 on November 15, 2007, 01:34:54 PM
FABY, Do you have this function interfaced to your estop button??

QUOTE""" Yes I know that it's not the right way, but I need this thingĀ  because if one of the 3 drivers fault, it can open the emergency pin and then stop the other 2 drivers."""

It is sounding like you have another circuit  inline of the estop circuit not allowing it to reset????

(;-) TP
Title: Re: EStop problem/question
Post by: faby on November 16, 2007, 02:56:21 AM
I focused the problem in some background noise in my ltp connection board, I think it's too close to the drivers.

Thanks
Title: Re: EStop problem/question
Post by: fractilian on March 16, 2008, 10:10:50 AM
How would one determine if it is background noise? 
I have the same problem as stated above.  Mach3 states that an external emergency stop has been requested.  In the Diagnostics screen it does not indicate a signal from my E-stop button.  When I do press my e-stop button i do recieve a e-stop signal so I know it is working properly.  This is my initial start-up so I don't have my limit switches hooked up yet.  I am at a loss as to what else it could be.  Is there a way for Mach3 to list where it is receiving the E-stop request from?  Any Ideas?   Thanks

 
Title: Re: EStop problem/question
Post by: BluePinnacle on March 16, 2008, 07:46:14 PM
I had a similar problem with Estops in particular. Slightly leaky circuits, long wires in particular, can trigger a pin. All my estops and limits feed into relays, which short the PC pins via a short length of printer cable. The relays run off my 9v control circuit that also powers the hall effect home switches. i used to suffer all the time from false Estops, now life is easy with relayed signal inputs. Why, i liked it so much i bought the company*

[/victor kyam]
* more relays, anyway
Title: Re: EStop problem/question
Post by: Glenn on March 16, 2008, 08:06:52 PM
Okay, BluePinnacle,
  Please explain further your relay switches on the limit and estops, because this sounds good but complicated  ;)
 Can you give us a diagram and description of your relays?
  Thanks,
   Glenn
Title: Re: EStop problem/question
Post by: fractilian on March 16, 2008, 08:31:26 PM
Thats how I have it set up.  My E-stop opens the circuit going to the coil of my relay.  Once I hit the e-stop my relay de-energizes breaking the circuit that goes to my pc board.  I also run my control voltage that energizes the relay controlling my router through the relay so that it gets turned off as well.  My problem is that the diagnostics screen does not indicate the pin  going active that my E-stop is on. So I feel it may be voltage leaking somewhere else I just don't know where.     
Title: Re: EStop problem/question
Post by: BluePinnacle on March 17, 2008, 07:07:29 AM
That's about the strength of it, my 9v supply feeds the coils of several relays. One has its coil in series with the limit switches, the other in series with the Estop mushroom. Hitting a limit or punching the mushroom cuts the current through the coil and allows the NC contact of the relay to snap shut and short out a pin. (10 for estop iirc).

The relays areTyco T7S S5E6-12 single pole changeovers, about sugar-cube sized, 57pp from RS, part number 616-8714. They're 12v rated but run fine on 9v.
Title: Re: EStop problem/question
Post by: Glenn on March 17, 2008, 03:35:53 PM
Hey BluePinnacle,
  Thanks for further detailing your set-up, I am anxious to assemble a system like yours, and knowing what size relays to buy helps alot. I appreciate your help! :)
Radio Shack, here I come,
  Glenn
Title: Re: EStop problem/question
Post by: BluePinnacle on March 18, 2008, 09:27:23 AM
np :) cost came into it, i could have bought much smaller relays but these Tyco ones were the cheapest that would do the job. As it is they'll carry 10 amps so they're well overrated, and another benefit is around 1,000 volts worth of isolation between the coil side and the contacts. happy wiring!