Machsupport Forum

Mach Discussion => General Mach Discussion => Topic started by: rwlove-lv on November 15, 2007, 12:29:52 AM

Title: Jogging two axis with one button
Post by: rwlove-lv on November 15, 2007, 12:29:52 AM
Does anyone know of an easy way to set a keyboard button to jog in two axis at the same time? If there is a way to do it with Brains that would be fine, but I could find and key codes in the brains software.

I have been using the G100 for a couple of months and and have had no trouble so far.

Thanks, Wayne
Title: Re: Jogging two axis with one button
Post by: jimpinder on November 15, 2007, 02:50:06 PM
I take it you are still wanting to have buttons for each individual axis, but also have one button (or two - forward and reverse) to move two axis simultaneously.

You could certainly write a script to do this - I haven't experimented with brains enough to comment, but it should be possible.
Title: Re: Jogging two axis with one button
Post by: Chaoticone on November 15, 2007, 03:47:39 PM
Can you tell us more about your application? You can slave axis, put vb scribt in a button, maybe assign hotkeys. Lots of ways to get what you want I think. Knowing how it will be used will help others decide the best rout for you.

Brett
Title: Re: Jogging two axis with one button
Post by: rwlove-lv on November 15, 2007, 08:39:46 PM
This is for a water jet, A lot of controllers on the market have the function of traversing on a 45 deg angle so it would be like pushing the X++ an and Y++ or other combinations to move in different combinations.

the thing about water jets, plasmas, and other large cutting area machines they typically don't use a and absolute system as they set a new 0,0 when beginning a new program and precision as far as fitting a large piece of granite or marble into a cutting area is done by mostly eye sight and the great line "that's close enough" so often getting to the next cutting point is like lazy people not wanting to push two keys at the same time.

And thanks so much for the help!

Wayne
Title: Re: Jogging two axis with one button
Post by: vmax549 on November 15, 2007, 08:47:38 PM
HUM, never tried that but I bet I will tommorrow.(;-)  I do know you can press two keys and get what you want

(;-) tp
Title: Re: Jogging two axis with one button
Post by: Chip on November 15, 2007, 09:47:22 PM
Hi, Wayne

Have you looked at the MDI Input line and the MPG window, It pop's up with "ALT" key.

Converted a IR water jet 5' X10' z 22" , Fanuc control to Mach3, Using a wireless key board and mouse.

If your working in Inc G91 then MDI G00 x10 y10 will move you around or add 4 button's to screen's and mpg pop out window.

Hard wire jog pendant, Config Mach to read switch position's and carryout moves.

There are many options, simple or complex.

Just some Thought's, Chip
Title: Re: Jogging two axis with one button
Post by: rwlove-lv on November 15, 2007, 11:02:51 PM
I was aware of moving with MDI I was looking for something a little more spontaneous and not having to type in code when a button could be pushed, thanks for trying. Is there a variable table that can be assign to keys using the brains method. I'm allready using the brains to deal with a servo fault situation. Also anybody know of a complete list VB properties, methods, events and constants for the scripting? I have written many stand alone VB apps.

Wayne
Title: Re: Jogging two axis with one button
Post by: Chip on November 15, 2007, 11:29:01 PM
Hi, Wayne

Looked at this http://www.machsupport.com/documentation/       MachCustomizeWiki

A Wiki which is being developed to contain all the customization information for Mach3 and Mach IV, Released with details of codes for screen controls and Mach VB script calls on 24 October 2005 Updateable on an ongoing basis by all users. See individual page histories for details

Try Art at http://groups.yahoo.com/group/mach1mach2cnc/messages.

Chip

Title: Re: Jogging two axis with one button
Post by: rwlove-lv on November 15, 2007, 11:44:15 PM
Thanks Chip,
I Copied them all to Excel, that's a big help.

Sat I will play with it.

Wayne
Title: Re: Jogging two axis with one button
Post by: Chip on November 16, 2007, 12:09:40 AM
Hi, Wayne

Hears a start, This code in a button will jog x+ y+ together, Just needs  some more code for second click to turn the jog off

"Stop button" works,

Put it in a button 

DoOemButton( 307 )   is  x+
DoOemButton( 309 )   is  y+

Works hear in MPG window Jog Mode set to "Cont" Jog Mode

DoOemButton( 1003 ) is stop

I no this is not your keyboard, Just a Start.

Thanks, Chip
Title: Re: Jogging two axis with one button
Post by: rwlove-lv on November 16, 2007, 12:28:03 PM
Chip
Hey thanks a lot you saved me some precious time, I didn't think it would be that complicated I just didn't know where to look for mach constants and codes.

Wayne
Title: Re: Jogging two axis with one button
Post by: rwlove-lv on November 17, 2007, 01:15:24 AM
Its to bad there isn't events like mouse key down and mouse key up.
Title: Re: Jogging two axis with one button
Post by: Chip on November 19, 2007, 02:51:34 AM
Hi, Wayne

I no this isn't exactly what you want, Take a look at it any way.

http://www.machsupport.com/forum/index.php/topic,4897.0.html

Thanks, Chip
Title: Re: Jogging two axis with one button
Post by: rwlove-lv on November 20, 2007, 02:08:52 PM
Chip,
Thanks for all your help all you have done is great. I basically did the same thing with the VB in Picture buttons that I made and just hit the Esc key when I needed to stop but this is still not what were looking for. The problem of  the not being able release the key and stop the movement where its needed to Stop.

Wayne
Title: Re: Jogging two axis with one button
Post by: Chip on November 20, 2007, 02:47:32 PM
Hi, Wayne

Just how close do you need to be, The G00 X# Y# or an Inc MPG window move wold put you there?

Jog pendant's usuelly jog 1, 10, 100 or cont, I guess some will take an input though, looked at mod-io ?

MPG Jog wheel set to both axises ?

Where are you located.

Thanks, Chip
Title: Re: Jogging two axis with one button
Post by: Hood on November 20, 2007, 06:36:55 PM
Not sure if it would work but could you not set up an external button for positive direct and another for negative direction. Have these buttons as OEM triggers and write a brain to Jog both axis positive when it sees one of them and jog both axis negative when it sees the other. That way it should only jog when it sees the trigger so releassing the button and it should stop. Or amybe I am not understanding what you want.
Hood