Machsupport Forum

Mach Discussion => General Mach Discussion => Topic started by: Tommy C. on April 12, 2006, 12:54:41 PM

Title: Homing "Z" first then "X" and "Y" together?
Post by: Tommy C. on April 12, 2006, 12:54:41 PM
Can you set Mach3 to home "Z" then send "X & Y" home together instead of each one seperatly?

Thanks,
Tommy C.
Title: Re: Homing "Z" first then "X" and "Y" together?
Post by: sshneider on April 13, 2006, 05:51:40 AM
Dude,

Have you tried using Safe Z? Read it to learn about "SAfe Z" by checking out this thread?     http://machsupport.com/forum/index.php?topic=463.0  Message line="Safe Z turned off-ignoring safe z move" but it's not turned off[/url]

I think that will make it do what you want.

Sid

Title: Re: Homing "Z" first then "X" and "Y" together?
Post by: Tommy C. on April 13, 2006, 08:44:06 AM
I have my machine going home perfectly but i would like for it to home
"X" and "Y" together after "Z" so it will be a little quicker.
Thanks
Tommy
Title: Re: Homing "Z" first then "X" and "Y" together?
Post by: Graham Waterworth on April 13, 2006, 01:37:33 PM
Hi,

at the end of your programs enter the following lines :-

G91 G28 X0 Y0
M30

Graham.
Title: Re: Homing "Z" first then "X" and "Y" together?
Post by: Brian Barker on April 13, 2006, 07:42:12 PM
Are you looking for new VB code for your buttons on the screen?
Title: Re: Homing "Z" first then "X" and "Y" together?
Post by: Bloy on April 13, 2006, 08:53:33 PM
Here's something that Art commented on that worked for me to get Z to home, followed by any other axes you choose to home simultaniously....
   I used this combination....
DoButton( 24 )          "home Z"
Refcombination( 19 )    "home X and Y and B"   

   see notes below..I'm searching for the other "Refcombination" numbers relating to the "B" and "C" axes as I changed my slaved axes to Y and B. (edited...FOUND ..see way below)

You don't need slaved axes for this refcombination to work....



"Art wrote....> Common problem. When you home , the slaving is disabled till the home is
> done. Thsi is done to auto-square the gantry of such a system, thats why
> the
> lack of slaving when you stop the homing.. The solution is to make the
> homing go in the correct order. This is done by modifying the Homing
> button.. If you open the 1024.set file in the screen designer and double
> click the "Ref All-Home" button, you will see the code is
>
> DoButton( 24 )
> DoButton( 23 )
> DoButton( 22 )
> DoButton( 25 )
>
> This basically calls the Z, then X then Y and A homes. This needs to be
> changed to ..
>
> DoButton( 24 ) ' this homes the Z
> DoButton( 23) ' this homes the Y
> RefCombination( 9 ) ' this will home the X and A at the same time.
>
> RefCombination accepts a number where X = 1 , Y = 2, Z = 4, A = 8, you
> simply add the values of the axis
> you wish to home, so X + A = 9..
>
> The squaring will be automatic and can be adjusted by your settings for
> the home position of the switches..
> Thanks,
> Art
> www.artofcnc.ca

Art also wrote this... and I found the complete "Refcombination" listing here....

"Art wrote....   The home switches, (which may be set to the same input as the limit
switches), are used only for homing. The axis will move to the switch, then
slowly move off.

   The program by default does one at a time, because thats the most usual
combination. YOu CAN move any combination at once by editing the RefAll
buttons script. There is a command called RefCombination( n ) which will ref
any combination of the axi s. N is calcuated by adding the following
numbers..

X - 1
Y - 2
Z - 4
A - 8
B - 16
C - 32

   So to ref X and Y togehter would be RefCombination( 3 )

""

John(bloy)
 P.S.  sources...Text document on my desktop, and a search in the yahoo group for "refcombination"
Title: Re: Homing "Z" first then "X" and "Y" together?
Post by: Tommy C. on April 13, 2006, 10:26:16 PM
Thanks eveyone!
I think I got it!
Tommy