Machsupport Forum

Mach Discussion => General Mach Discussion => Topic started by: Wattsy on November 16, 2020, 03:26:22 PM

Title: Radius to end of arc differs from start
Post by: Wattsy on November 16, 2020, 03:26:22 PM
Hi all.
Im   New to cnc. Not been learning for very long. Hit a brick wall. Looked on youtube internet. With no joy how to solve the problem  im drawing a simple arc. In autocad. Saving the file as dxf  then im sending the file to lazy cam i clean it scale it generate the gcode.  I then load code in mach 3 turn mode. and in the screen. It just shows circle. Ive tried it with a diamond shape with a radius   Ive gone to general config and tried changing  ij settings. To absulte and inc.  etc. And same in lazy cam.  And still same shows on screen. What am i doing wrong. Can anyone help.
   
Title: Re: Radius to end of arc differs from start
Post by: Graham Waterworth on November 16, 2020, 06:50:05 PM
Change the IJ mode in config
Title: Re: Radius to end of arc differs from start
Post by: Wattsy on November 17, 2020, 03:45:11 AM
I have changed the ij settings in Mach 3 In config and saved changes   I have tried  both settings absolute and inc   And still get same result  a circle in the screen  ??
Title: Re: Radius to end of arc differs from start
Post by: TPS on November 17, 2020, 04:20:26 AM
can you pls post the dxf and gcode file?
Title: Re: Radius to end of arc differs from start
Post by: Wattsy on November 17, 2020, 02:11:02 PM
 the  dxf file  and the g code generated
Title: Re: Radius to end of arc differs from start
Post by: Graham Waterworth on November 17, 2020, 04:54:30 PM
Are you working in Diameter or Radius mode, Diameter is normal
Title: Re: Radius to end of arc differs from start
Post by: Graham Waterworth on November 17, 2020, 05:16:13 PM
Try this and see if you get the same as shown here:-

Title: Re: Radius to end of arc differs from start
Post by: RICH on November 18, 2020, 07:20:45 AM
LazyCam's turn module leaves much to be desired and can be problematic to use. That is one reason that LAZYTURN was created to be a replacement for that module. There is a manual for LazyCam which has a Turn tutorial in it ...... been over 10 years since that was written.
RICH
Title: Re: Radius to end of arc differs from start
Post by: Wattsy on November 18, 2020, 12:08:28 PM
Hi thanks for reply‚Äôs 
 I am working in radius ...
 I have read lazy cam manual  but still having issues ,,,,
 I will try that in Mach and see if I get same results  cheers   
Title: Re: Radius to end of arc differs from start
Post by: Wattsy on November 18, 2020, 01:06:18 PM
Try this and see if you get the same as shown here:-

Sent your balltap Program to mach3 this is what it throws up
Title: Re: Radius to end of arc differs from start
Post by: Wattsy on November 19, 2020, 01:11:12 PM
Does anyone know how I can fix the problem  in Mach 3  ?? 
Title: Re: Radius to end of arc differs from start
Post by: TPS on November 19, 2020, 02:14:04 PM
pls post your "Profile".xml file
Title: Re: Radius to end of arc differs from start
Post by: Graham Waterworth on November 20, 2020, 03:21:04 PM
The code I posted was in Diameter mode so if you change Mach to diameter mode all should look good.

Are you using Radius mode for any special reason, most lathes are programmed Diameter.