Machsupport Forum

G-Code, CAD, and CAM => G-Code, CAD, and CAM discussions => Topic started by: cbert10 on July 14, 2020, 05:37:45 PM

Title: Randomly stopping on G4 P0.1 Command
Post by: cbert10 on July 14, 2020, 05:37:45 PM
Hey all
I have recently got into cnc work and and working on retrofitting an older plasma table with Mach 4 and and ESS smooth stepper. My problem is that when I load my g code the machine will just randomly stop at one of the G4 or G04 P0.1 commands (for some reason sheet cam uses both and not just one). However when there is a G04 P0.1 two lines later the machine will act normal. It does not happen every G04, but it is always caused by a G4 command (if that makes sense). I have tried using code editor in sheet cam to remove or change the code to all G04 and tried to change the duration but neither seem to make any difference >:(. I am wondering if anyone has any suggestions, tips, tricks.

(Operation: Inside Offset, INTERIOR_PROFILES, T1: Plasma, 0.0315 in kerf)
N0280 G00 X233.8552 Y127.3623
N0290 M63P4 (***THC Inhibited, AD2***)
N0300 (>>>Probe/Ref<<<)
N0310 G31.0 Z-10  F500.0
N0320 G91 G00 Z6.0000 (Incremental move for switch offset distance comp)
N0330 G90 (Back to absolute move mode)
N0340 G92 Z0.0 (Z work coordinate set to 0.0)
N0350 m2020 (HC_WORK_Z_ZEROED=1)
N0360 G4 P0.1
N0370 G00 Z6.0800
N0380 G4 P0.001
N0390 M62P3 (>>>Torch ON<<<)
N0400 Z5.0800 (Force a small move in Z to make M62 fire the torch)
N0410 G04 P0.1
N0420 G02 X232.9405 Y130.1538 Z2.0320 I2.2989 J2.2989 F355.6
N0430 X233.8552 Y131.9601 I3.2137 J-0.4926 F1778.0
N0440 X241.8316 Y120.2303 I5.1053 J-5.1053
N0450 M62P4 (+++THC Allowed, AD2+++)
N0460 X233.8552 Y131.9601 I-2.8711 J6.6246 F2540.0
N0470 M63P3 (<<<Torch OFF>>>)
Title: Re: Randomly stopping on G4 P0.1 Command
Post by: Graham Waterworth on July 15, 2020, 10:05:46 AM
G4 is a delay, this can be in seconds or microseconds depending on the setting in the mach3 config screen.  I think Mach4 uses P for microseconds and X for seconds
Title: Re: Randomly stopping on G4 P0.1 Command
Post by: tgauweiler on July 15, 2020, 12:29:03 PM
Hallo,
sorry das ich in Deutsch antworte. Mein englisch ist sehr schlecht.

In Mach4 wird bei G04 Pxx auf 2 arten angewendet.

G04 P10 = 10 Millisekunden.
G04 P10. = 10 Sekunden.

Also ist die Eingabe P0.1 = 100 Millisekunden und die Eingabe P0.001 = 1 Millisekunde.
Probieren Sie mal P1. und P10. dann sollten Sie einen Unterschied feststellen.
Gruß Thomas
Title: Re: Randomly stopping on G4 P0.1 Command
Post by: cbert10 on July 15, 2020, 05:24:08 PM
I understand that a g04 is a pause command, but what would make it stoop completely on a g04?
Title: Re: Randomly stopping on G4 P0.1 Command
Post by: tgauweiler on July 16, 2020, 07:29:04 AM
Hi,
ich hoffe das ich das richtig verstanden habe.
Du möchtest die Maschine komplett zum Stillstand bringen? Richtig?
Das macht man mit dem Befehl M00.
Mit M00 bleibt die Maschine / das Programm stehen, und wartet auf das drücken der Start-Taste damit die Maschine / das Programm weiter läuft.

Beispiel:

G00 Z100.
G00 X0. Y0.
M03 S2000 F100
G00 Z5.
G01 X-30.
M00          (Maschine bleibt Stehen und wartet auf Startknopf)
G01 Y-20.
G00 Z100.
M05
M30

gruß
Thomas

Title: Re: Randomly stopping on G4 P0.1 Command
Post by: TPS on July 16, 2020, 09:42:20 AM
i do not think that the G04 is causing the Problem. try to run a simple test like this


G01 X10 F300
G04 P0.1
G01 X0
G04 P0.1
G01 X10
G04 P0.1
G01 X0
G04 P0.1
G01 X10
G04 P0.1
G01 X0
G04 P0.1


Title: Re: Randomly stopping on G4 P0.1 Command
Post by: cbert10 on July 17, 2020, 03:31:40 PM
I typed in the code you gave me to my MDI and it runs just fine. I am at a loss here. I have tried installing newest version of Mach, different post processors in sheet cam, and different screen sets with out any success
Title: Re: Randomly stopping on G4 P0.1 Command
Post by: TPS on July 18, 2020, 03:10:27 AM
try to copy this code in a Textfile like test.tap and the load/run this file.
Title: Re: Randomly stopping on G4 P0.1 Command
Post by: cbert10 on July 19, 2020, 05:55:57 PM
Don’t see a anything to copy
Title: Re: Randomly stopping on G4 P0.1 Command
Post by: TPS on July 20, 2020, 02:13:41 AM
Code: [Select]
G01 X10 F300
G04 P0.1
G01 X0
G04 P0.1
G01 X10
G04 P0.1
G01 X0
G04 P0.1
G01 X10
G04 P0.1
G01 X0
G04 P0.1
M30
Title: Re: Randomly stopping on G4 P0.1 Command
Post by: cbert10 on July 21, 2020, 08:55:10 PM
So I figured out my problem and wanted to post the solution for anyone who runs into similar problems.
When downloading the support files for TMC 3in1 you need to install the m2020 macro from warp 9’s page. MAKE SURE THE OTHER M2020 IS DELETED!!!!!!
This was a very large pain in my rear that I caused myself by following the steps to fast. It also took way to long to figure out.

Hopefully my mistakes help someone in the future. Thank you all for you assistance
Title: Re: Randomly stopping on G4 P0.1 Command
Post by: Tweakie.CNC on July 22, 2020, 04:45:13 AM
Many thanks for reporting back with the solution Cbert10, I am sure this will help others in the future.

Tweakie.
Title: Re: Randomly stopping on G4 P0.1 Command
Post by: JATIGER on November 12, 2020, 05:07:06 PM
So I figured out my problem and wanted to post the solution for anyone who runs into similar problems.
When downloading the support files for TMC 3in1 you need to install the m2020 macro from warp 9’s page. MAKE SURE THE OTHER M2020 IS DELETED!!!!!!
This was a very large pain in my rear that I caused myself by following the steps to fast. It also took way to long to figure out.

Hopefully my mistakes help someone in the future. Thank you all for you assistance


I’m have the same issue and this fix didn’t work. Was there anything else you did? It only happens after probe
Title: Re: Randomly stopping on G4 P0.1 Command
Post by: cbert10 on November 24, 2020, 10:22:03 PM
That seems to be the only thing that I did to fix it. It has been running fairly good since then, with no more of the above issues.