Machsupport Forum

Mach Discussion => Mach4 General Discussion => Topic started by: pete1961 on October 21, 2019, 07:50:58 PM

Title: How to change post processor to go to Z zero only at program end.
Post by: pete1961 on October 21, 2019, 07:50:58 PM
In the Fusion 360 post processor is there a way to only home z and not X&Y when program is finished running.
Title: Re: How to change post processor to go to Z zero only at program end.
Post by: Stuart on October 22, 2019, 02:39:13 AM
Yes

Well that answered your question completely ( puts tin hat on)

Go to the fusion forum and ask how to do the mods you require it’s only java script you need to alter a couple of lines
Title: Re: How to change post processor to go to Z zero only at program end.
Post by: thosj on October 22, 2019, 06:37:11 AM
You CAN do it with Notepad++, but Visual Studio Code works much better. There is a plugin for Visual Studio Code that makes working with Fusion posts much easier. You can run test gcode in VSC and see, in the code, where it's happening.

There's a pretty big learning curve here, but that said, what you want to do would be really simple.

Google is your friend and the more you learn the more you know!!!

Tom
Title: Re: How to change post processor to go to Z zero only at program end.
Post by: Cbyrdtopper on October 22, 2019, 09:31:55 PM
It's actually very easy to do this.
It is at the very end of the post, if I'm thinking correctly, all you have to do is comment out the line

writeRetract(X, Y);

This should do what you want.

On my Mach4 post that I use, I use G30.  This will move X, Y, and Z to specified machine coordinates specified in the #VARS 5181 -5183.  Very handy if you want the X to move to the center of travel and the Y forward. 
I can share my post tomorrow if you would like.  It is on my work computer and not my laptop here at home.
Title: Re: How to change post processor to go to Z zero only at program end.
Post by: pete1961 on October 22, 2019, 10:02:37 PM
It's actually very easy to do this.
It is at the very end of the post, if I'm thinking correctly, all you have to do is comment out the line

writeRetract(X, Y);

This should do what you want.

On my Mach4 post that I use, I use G30.  This will move X, Y, and Z to specified machine coordinates specified in the #VARS 5181 -5183.  Very handy if you want the X to move to the center of travel and the Y forward. 
I can share my post tomorrow if you would like.  It is on my work computer and not my laptop here at home.

I was aware of this but would require check every time I post.
Title: Re: How to change post processor to go to Z zero only at program end.
Post by: Cbyrdtopper on October 22, 2019, 11:02:34 PM
What do you mean, check every time you post?
Title: Re: How to change post processor to go to Z zero only at program end.
Post by: pete1961 on October 22, 2019, 11:21:06 PM
What do you mean, check every time you post?

Are you saying that code is in the post processor or in a gcode file? I guess without thinking about it, I was thinking it was at the end of the gcode file.

If so, how do you comment it out? What syntax?
Title: Re: How to change post processor to go to Z zero only at program end.
Post by: thosj on October 23, 2019, 08:15:19 AM
It's in the post processor file which is merely a text file you can edit very easily. The post processor file then generates the gcode to run the machine. You only need to edit the post processor file, and only once. The Fusion post processor file is cleverly hidden, however! Again, Google is your friend.

"fusion 360 post processor location"

Tom
Title: Re: How to change post processor to go to Z zero only at program end.
Post by: Cbyrdtopper on October 23, 2019, 08:29:57 AM
You can get to the Post in Fusion. 
Open the Post Process dialog in Manufacture, then click "Open Config" next to the Post you are using.
Also, I think the stock Mach4Mill post has "Use G30" as an option.
Title: Re: How to change post processor to go to Z zero only at program end.
Post by: pete1961 on October 23, 2019, 08:27:34 PM
Fusion360 mach4 mill uses G28. So this is what the setting looks like as well as at the bottom of the post processor code.
I used to have Mach3 and seem to think there is a configuration choice for how to handle a G28 so maybe there is in the mach4 configuration as well.
Title: Re: How to change post processor to go to Z zero only at program end.
Post by: pete1961 on October 23, 2019, 09:40:30 PM
Disregard! Dummy me!!
I was not writing the machine configuration to the post processed file.
All is well for this issue!
Title: Re: How to change post processor to go to Z zero only at program end.
Post by: Stuart on October 24, 2019, 02:51:07 AM
Go to the fusion/hsm post library and down load the current m4 mill post that has the code to enable g30.

As I said to you in my first post to you get over to the forum that can help you they are the ones who produce the posts for their software
Title: Re: How to change post processor to go to Z zero only at program end.
Post by: Cbyrdtopper on October 24, 2019, 09:45:50 AM
I asked Autodesk to add G30 to the safe retracts last year.  As long as your post isn't older than 10/12/18 then you should have the option to use G30 as well.
That way you can move your table Front and Center once the program is finished.

But, originally, you just wanted the Z to retract only; removing the writeRetract(X, Y); will cause only the Z to retract.