Machsupport Forum

Third party software and hardware support forums. => CS-Lab => Topic started by: Horasio310 on May 25, 2016, 02:58:18 PM

Title: Brother TC-S2A Retrofit
Post by: Horasio310 on May 25, 2016, 02:58:18 PM
Hi, my name is Horacio

I'm going to attemp to retrofit Mach 3 on a Brother TC-S2A that was missing all drives minus the spindle drive and motor which are still there..

I'm trying to figure out if I can use the spindle motor and drive ?

I have bought CSMIO-IP/S that I will be using along with the mpg module, x-y-z axis will have 750w Mitsubishi MR-JS2 motors and drives and all original limit switches will be re-used..

How can I use the gear motor that is on the toolchanger ? It has a proximity sensor and a encoder disc which I'm very lost on how to make it work with Mach 3 or should I get a Plc to control the tool changer ? AD06 PLC ?
Also how would I write a vb m6 tool change macro that would let it change tool using the shortest path ?

I will post pictures when I'm home on the spindle motor and drive hopefully it can be used ..
Title: Re: Brother TC-S2A Retrofit
Post by: Hood on May 26, 2016, 02:06:24 PM
You would really have to describe exactly how the toolchanger works. Probably the simplest way would be to fit a stepper or servo  and just use it as a rotational axis in Mach but without info on what you have now and how it exactly works it is hard to say for sure.
Hood
Title: Re: Brother TC-S2A Retrofit
Post by: Horasio310 on May 26, 2016, 03:00:24 PM
It has a single phase 200v 90w 1:10 ratio gear motor and one rotation index one tool but the z axis has to raise up to tool change when it does the tool is released in its pocket mechanically and then the tools rotate around the spindle for the next tool change, spindle comes down and grabs the tool mechanically. It has a gueneva machanism to index tools and there's a encoder disc and proximity sensor on the shaft of the mechanism that indexes the tools ..
Title: Re: Brother TC-S2A Retrofit
Post by: Hood on May 26, 2016, 04:41:52 PM
Might be quite tricky to control the motor as stopping it accurately might be an issue from Mach.
Maybe it doesn't need to be deadly accurate as the geneva mechanism will likely have a lot of leeway?

Hood
Title: Re: Brother TC-S2A Retrofit
Post by: Horasio310 on May 26, 2016, 10:20:09 PM
I believe it might not have to be too accurate maybe a timer relay for cw and another for ccw but how do I incorporate this into m6 vb script and be able to tell it to take the shortest route ?
Title: Re: Brother TC-S2A Retrofit
Post by: Hood on May 27, 2016, 02:06:00 AM
Here is some test VB I did a while ago to go shortest route on a 6 position turret, it should give you some idea of how it could be done.

OldTool = GetCurrentTool()
NewTool = GetSelectedTool()Mod 6
If NewTool = 0 Then
  NewTool = 6
  End If




If NewTool > OldTool Then
ToolCount = NewTool - OldTool
 If ToolCount < 4 Then
  TurretDir = 1
   Else
    TurretDir = 2
 End If
 End If   

 If OldTool > NewTool Then
ToolCount = OldTool - NewTool
 If ToolCount < 4 Then
  TurretDir = 2
   Else
    TurretDir = 1
 End If
 End If   
 
 
 
 If TurretDir = 1 Then
 MsgBox"Turret is Clockwise"
 Else
  If TurretDir = 2 Then
  MsgBox"Turret is AntiClockwise"
  End If
   End If 
   
   SetCurrentTool(NewTool)


The last part just pops up a message as I was only using it to test, in that part you would have to do whatever was required to start the turret moving to the tool required.

If you had a stepper or servo set as an axis thenMach could handle the shortest route internally, so all depends on how you proceed.

Hood
Title: Re: Brother TC-S2A Retrofit
Post by: Horasio310 on June 06, 2016, 11:01:12 PM
here is a picture of the tool changer it has a proximity sensor on a cam shaft and it lets it know that a tool change has reached its location... it has index cams on it and pauses for a second when I wired it to a teco L510 VFD im thinking of running the gear motor using the VFD Drive with a fwd and rev relay ?

It has some sort of encoder disk setup but not sure if i can make that work ?? would i be fine attaching a homing optical sensor for tool 1 (home and using the cam proximity sensor to let mach know a tool change has been completed ?

the release and putting tool back on carousel is all mechanical... which should make it a bit simple... i will use existing limit switches and a tool change switch to let it know the tool changer can move...

I still having a hard time with the spindle orientation...? 

Does anyone Know how to wire up a Sanyo Denki Spindle Motor / Drive to Csmio-Ip/s ??

Drive model is PZ9A150U*********C02 
input 200v ac
model

BL Super PZ

I have the motor that goes with the drive as well...
Title: Re: Brother TC-S2A Retrofit
Post by: Horasio310 on June 06, 2016, 11:13:02 PM
CSMIO-IP/S
Title: Re: Brother TC-S2A Retrofit
Post by: Horasio310 on June 06, 2016, 11:13:26 PM
Sanyo Denki Drive
Title: Re: Brother TC-S2A Retrofit
Post by: Horasio310 on June 06, 2016, 11:14:05 PM
Sanyo Servo Motor /Spindle motor
Title: Re: Brother TC-S2A Retrofit
Post by: Horasio310 on June 06, 2016, 11:14:26 PM
Spindle Motor Wiring
Title: Re: Brother TC-S2A Retrofit
Post by: Horasio310 on June 06, 2016, 11:16:41 PM
http://www.sanyodenki.biz/products/INSTRUCTIONMANUAL/ACservo/PY2/M0001584J%28PY2%29-E.pdf

i found this manual but i dont think its the correct one ?


Title: Re: Brother TC-S2A Retrofit
Post by: Horasio310 on June 06, 2016, 11:36:22 PM
https://www.artisantg.com/info/ATGa2kzb.pdf

Page 71 seems like it but i'm lost...

maybe someone can help....


Thanks,
Horasio