Machsupport Forum

Mach Discussion => General Mach Discussion => Topic started by: ozwes007 on June 29, 2015, 10:14:41 PM

Title: Need confirmation
Post by: ozwes007 on June 29, 2015, 10:14:41 PM
Just need to verify what is happening in the wizards

Background info - X and Y axis are set at 480 steps per Unit(mm) - resolution is 0.0020833 of a mm.
Input is JogVal=0.20833

When i code this
Code "G31  Y" & JogVal & " F" &ProbeFeed

Output to DRO and movement is 0.20833

However if the code is
Code "G31Y" & JogVal & " F" &ProbeFeed
Notice the missing space between G31Y.....

Output to DRO and movement is 0.20625

This appears to only occur in Wizards, inputting this in the MDI brings the same value to movement and DRO 0.20833

Could any one verify that this occurs for them as well please.

Wes
Title: Re: Need confirmation
Post by: BR549 on June 30, 2015, 12:47:26 AM
So is that a trip value or end of travel value? I don't have YOUR probe to test with(;-) The difference of  distance between the Y and the one is MORE than .002 so it could not be that (;-).

(;-) TP
Title: Re: Need confirmation
Post by: ozwes007 on June 30, 2015, 06:17:06 AM
Hi TP,
The value is a full move value. Probe is not in play at this stage. No calculations have been performed.
Just a simple move and its bugging me that the space in the code is creating the difference in the outcome.

At this stage i'm just looking for repeatability in some one else's wizard setup.
BTW the centre finder wizard is were this first showed up. Manually moving the Y axis produced the fault and the X axis moves did not.
When I traced the code, the only difference I could find was this G31Y having no space. I altered it to G31 Y and hey presto the fault disappeared.
Is it a bug? who knows unless we can duplicate the Fault. Hence the Question.

Wes
Title: Re: Need confirmation
Post by: BR549 on June 30, 2015, 01:05:51 PM
IN mach3's Gcode spaces do not matter SAME with the scripting language. BUT(;-) I will run some tests as well.

(;-) TP

Title: Re: Need confirmation
Post by: BR549 on June 30, 2015, 03:11:08 PM
OK here is a macro in a button script that I tested with. It also writes to a log file so you do not have to stare at it all day. It has cycled well over 1000 loops without failing to correctly show the same values in the DROs and the point file from the G31.

NOW does it round UP/down funny ?YEP BUT the same very time no matter if spaced or not in the gcode.

Steps PER = 200000
DRO resolution = 0.0000000  (7 dec)

'Mach3 G31 readout and point test
test = 0
Open "C:\Mach3\Test549.txt" For Append As #1
Do While test <= 10
Code"G0Y0X0"
While Ismoving()
Wend
code"G31Y0.21111111 f100"
While Ismoving()
Wend
Code"G0 Y0"
While Ismoving()
Wend
code"G31 Y0.21111111"
While Ismoving()
Wend
Print #1, "Ydro: " & Getdro(1) & " Ypnt: "& Getvar(2001)
While Ismoving()
Wend
message "Test# " & test
test = test+1
Loop
Close #1
End    



HERE is a sample of the log file with 10 loops.

Ydro: 0.211105 Ypnt: 0.211105
Ydro: 0.211105 Ypnt: 0.211105
Ydro: 0.211105 Ypnt: 0.211105
Ydro: 0.211105 Ypnt: 0.211105
Ydro: 0.211105 Ypnt: 0.211105
Ydro: 0.211105 Ypnt: 0.211105
Ydro: 0.211105 Ypnt: 0.211105
Ydro: 0.211105 Ypnt: 0.211105
Ydro: 0.211105 Ypnt: 0.211105
Ydro: 0.211105 Ypnt: 0.211105
Ydro: 0.211105 Ypnt: 0.211105

(;-) TP
    
Title: Re: Need confirmation
Post by: ozwes007 on July 03, 2015, 02:59:20 AM
Hi TP
I have review your test system and while it does produce results like this some times, it doesn't always.

I have produced a wizard and a test file that i ran on my system for your perusal and playing.
The error generated is 1 missed step every time.

Your thoughts on this would be appreciated. My single step is 0.002083333333333333., however as you can see from the text file it isn't this specific number that the issue arises from.

Wes
Title: Re: Need confirmation
Post by: BR549 on July 03, 2015, 12:00:37 PM
OK I will review that .

Are you sure you are not seeing error from the probe trip itself. Lower end 3point pivot probes CAN be innaccurate when moving in certain directions such as not in line with a pivot ball. They are 3 point most accurate and 3 points worse accurate. It between it can vary as well.

Also are you sure it is not a step resolution problem where it cannot get to the position because of step resolution. It will add the remainder of the lost step value into the next move.

Just a thought, (;-) TP

Title: Re: Need confirmation
Post by: ozwes007 on July 03, 2015, 08:28:09 PM
OK I will review that .

Are you sure you are not seeing error from the probe trip itself. Lower end 3point pivot probes CAN be inaccurate when moving in certain directions such as not in line with a pivot ball. They are 3 point most accurate and 3 points worse accurate. It between it can vary as well.
The probe is not being used at this moment, Just trying to find the source of the erroneous error

Also are you sure it is not a step resolution problem where it cannot get to the position because of step resolution. It will add the remainder of the lost step value into the next move.
You will see that the only step I use in the program is the actual resolution and multiples of it in the Wizard

Just a thought, (;-) TP


The background for this was that I was probing a ground internal Diameter to get ready for a cut and I noticed a discrepancy in the numbers coming back on the dro's.
At first i thought there was contamination on the probe tip or job surface causing loss of electrical continuity. I eliminated this, then went on to Backlash, Steps per Axis etc etc. Eventually all that was left was an error in the actual program. In the MDI I couldn't find it, so I went back to the Wizard and that's were I found the error occurring.
Hence this Forum Discussion. I believe the error is specifically the G31 command has problems with large decimal place numbers and is truncating them using some method. Or it is simply missing the first microstep/step, either way there is an error in the G31 coding or my installation of Mach3. The issue doesn't raise its head unless you have large decimal place numbers, so 0.0125 or 0.0250 etc will work but 0.00208333333 or odd multiples of this don't. These are actual step values I use so im really baffled as they are "all" multiples of the smallest step value

Wes
Title: Re: Need confirmation
Post by: BR549 on July 03, 2015, 08:38:50 PM
I tried your wiz but it did not make any sense without intructions.  ALSO it takes FOREVER to run a segment. I will retry it now that I know a little more about it.

(;-) TP
Title: Re: Need confirmation
Post by: BR549 on July 03, 2015, 09:56:06 PM
YEPPER there is something really ODD going on with the G31 moves from a wizard.  Next is to test it outside of a wizard.

Then back up in ver to see IF it goes away. It is in V.067 and V.062

(;-0 TP
Title: Re: Need confirmation
Post by: BR549 on July 03, 2015, 10:21:10 PM
OK I took it out of the wizard to a MAch3 page , still there

I took it back to V.022 , Still there

I even changed out the INC dro with a user dro just to make sure(;-) , Still there

I even added extra wait state time for DRO updates  JUST to make sure, Still there

G01 moves are perfect
G31 moves are munched

I even reversed the G01/G31 in the order of execution in the script and the problem followed the G31.

That will explain the problem people have had with the TLO routines not repeating.


(;-) TP

Title: Re: Need confirmation
Post by: ozwes007 on July 03, 2015, 10:35:13 PM
Thanks TP, not what I wanted to here, but it does confirm my thoughts. I'm using .67 and .66 Versions.
So do we live with this or submit a bug report?

Wes
Title: Re: Need confirmation
Post by: BR549 on July 03, 2015, 10:55:36 PM
As far AS I remember said there is to be ZERO mach3 fixes. But if the bug holds up that makes the G31 just about useless.

I will do more testing JUST to make sure. But it sure LOOKS like a big old bug from here.

Just to be sure it needs to be tested from a tripped point perspective NOT just an end of travel issue. IT MAY NOT even effect the trip point values as they have always been dead on accurate.  BUT you won't know until it is tested from THAT perspective as well. THAT would be the really important test. IF that is munched oh well.

(;-) TP
Title: Re: Need confirmation
Post by: BR549 on July 03, 2015, 11:53:01 PM
Wes I don' think this is a problem I had to think back a long time ago Art had said there is a MINIMUM move distance for the G31 to be accurate. I recall the number being about .050" before a trip.

(;-) Mach4 HAS the same problem with micro G31 moves I just tested it as well. 

I will dig into the old test notes to see if I can find the conversation with Art.

(;-) TP
Title: Re: Need confirmation
Post by: BR549 on July 03, 2015, 11:56:49 PM
WES the Minimum move distance is .010"  .

(;-) TP
Title: Re: Need confirmation
Post by: ozwes007 on July 04, 2015, 12:16:58 AM
Thanks TP, I'll make all my moves greater then 0.254mm and try that.
I am assuming thats 10 Thousands of an inch.

Wes
Title: Re: Need confirmation
Post by: ozwes007 on July 04, 2015, 12:28:31 AM
Hi TP.
still getting the 1 Step loss on the G31 however above 0.254 the steps at least are working.

 
G31Y Test Jog# 0.208333333
Ydro: 0.20625 Ypnt: 0.20625 Jog value: 0.208333333
Ydro: 0.41458333333333 Ypnt: 0.41458333333333 Jog value: 0.416666666
Ydro: 0.62291666666667 Ypnt: 0.62291666666667 Jog value: 0.624999999
Ydro: 0.83125 Ypnt: 0.83125 Jog value: 0.833333332
Ydro: 1.0395833333333 Ypnt: 1.0395833333333 Jog value: 1.041666665
Ydro: 1.2479166666667 Ypnt: 1.2479166666667 Jog value: 1.249999998
Ydro: 1.45625 Ypnt: 1.45625 Jog value: 1.458333331
Ydro: 1.6645833333333 Ypnt: 1.6645833333333 Jog value: 1.666666664
Ydro: 1.8729166666667 Ypnt: 1.8729166666667 Jog value: 1.874999997
Ydro: 2.08125 Ypnt: 2.08125 Jog value: 2.08333333
Ydro: 2.2895833333333 Ypnt: 2.2895833333333 Jog value: 2.291666663
 
G01 Y Test Jog# 0.208333333
Ydro: 0.20833333333333 Jog Value: 0.208333333
Ydro: 0.41666666666667 Jog Value: 0.416666666
Ydro: 0.625 Jog Value: 0.624999999
Ydro: 0.83333333333333 Jog Value: 0.833333332
Ydro: 1.0416666666667 Jog Value: 1.041666665
Ydro: 1.25 Jog Value: 1.249999998
Ydro: 1.4583333333333 Jog Value: 1.458333331
Ydro: 1.6666666666667 Jog Value: 1.666666664
Ydro: 1.875 Jog Value: 1.874999997
Ydro: 2.0833333333333 Jog Value: 2.08333333
Ydro: 2.2916666666667 Jog Value: 2.291666663
 
G31Y Test Jog# 0.25416666666667
Ydro: 0.25416666666667 Ypnt: 0.25416666666667 Jog value: 0.25416666666667
Ydro: 0.50625 Ypnt: 0.50625 Jog value: 0.50833333333333
Ydro: 0.7625 Ypnt: 0.7625 Jog value: 0.7625
Ydro: 1.0166666666667 Ypnt: 1.0166666666667 Jog value: 1.0166666666667
Ydro: 1.26875 Ypnt: 1.26875 Jog value: 1.2708333333333
Ydro: 1.525 Ypnt: 1.525 Jog value: 1.525
Ydro: 1.7791666666667 Ypnt: 1.7791666666667 Jog value: 1.7791666666667
Ydro: 2.03125 Ypnt: 2.03125 Jog value: 2.0333333333333
Ydro: 2.2875 Ypnt: 2.2875 Jog value: 2.2875
Ydro: 2.5416666666667 Ypnt: 2.5416666666667 Jog value: 2.5416666666667
Ydro: 2.79375 Ypnt: 2.79375 Jog value: 2.7958333333333
 
G01 Y Test Jog# 0.25416666666667
Ydro: 0.25416666666667 Jog Value: 0.25416666666667
Ydro: 0.50833333333333 Jog Value: 0.50833333333333
Ydro: 0.7625 Jog Value: 0.7625
Ydro: 1.0166666666667 Jog Value: 1.0166666666667
Ydro: 1.2708333333333 Jog Value: 1.2708333333333
Ydro: 1.525 Jog Value: 1.525
Ydro: 1.7791666666667 Jog Value: 1.7791666666667
Ydro: 2.0333333333333 Jog Value: 2.0333333333333
Ydro: 2.2875 Jog Value: 2.2875
Ydro: 2.5416666666667 Jog Value: 2.5416666666667
Ydro: 2.7958333333333 Jog Value: 2.7958333333333
 
G31Y Test Jog# 0.504166666666
Ydro: 0.50208333333333 Ypnt: 0.50208333333333 Jog value: 0.504166666666
Ydro: 1.00625 Ypnt: 1.00625 Jog value: 1.008333333332
Ydro: 1.5104166666667 Ypnt: 1.5104166666667 Jog value: 1.512499999998
Ydro: 2.0145833333333 Ypnt: 2.0145833333333 Jog value: 2.016666666664
Ydro: 2.51875 Ypnt: 2.51875 Jog value: 2.52083333333
Ydro: 3.0229166666667 Ypnt: 3.0229166666667 Jog value: 3.024999999996
Ydro: 3.5270833333333 Ypnt: 3.5270833333333 Jog value: 3.529166666662
Ydro: 4.03125 Ypnt: 4.03125 Jog value: 4.033333333328
Ydro: 4.5354166666667 Ypnt: 4.5354166666667 Jog value: 4.537499999994
Ydro: 5.0395833333333 Ypnt: 5.0395833333333 Jog value: 5.04166666666
Ydro: 5.54375 Ypnt: 5.54375 Jog value: 5.545833333326
 
G01 Y Test Jog# 0.504166666666
Ydro: 0.50416666666667 Jog Value: 0.504166666666
Ydro: 1.0083333333333 Jog Value: 1.008333333332
Ydro: 1.5125 Jog Value: 1.512499999998
Ydro: 2.0166666666667 Jog Value: 2.016666666664
Ydro: 2.5208333333333 Jog Value: 2.52083333333
Ydro: 3.025 Jog Value: 3.024999999996
Ydro: 3.5291666666667 Jog Value: 3.529166666662
Ydro: 4.0333333333333 Jog Value: 4.033333333328
Ydro: 4.5375 Jog Value: 4.537499999994
Ydro: 5.0416666666667 Jog Value: 5.04166666666
Ydro: 5.5458333333333 Jog Value: 5.545833333326

Wes
Title: Re: Need confirmation
Post by: BR549 on July 04, 2015, 11:01:51 AM
Wes have you tried a Trip value test ? Set up a stop block and do the same G31 routine into the block.

DON'T run the G01 routine though (;-) Crunch.

(;-)TP