Machsupport Forum

Mach Discussion => Mach4 General Discussion => Mach4 Videos => Topic started by: DazTheGas on April 20, 2015, 03:32:47 AM

Title: ESS and Mach4 Setup
Post by: DazTheGas on April 20, 2015, 03:32:47 AM
Hi,

For those like me who could not find much info on the setup i have created a video of my Ox build.

The first part explains the setup of Mach4 with the ESS.

https://youtu.be/HIE0k6mu2yc (https://youtu.be/HIE0k6mu2yc)

Enjoy....

Title: Re: ESS and Mach4 Setup
Post by: Tweakie.CNC on April 20, 2015, 04:41:37 AM
Absolutely excellent job Daz - I am looking forward to part II (and more please).

Tweakie.
Title: Re: ESS and Mach4 Setup
Post by: slowtwitch on April 20, 2015, 06:03:25 AM
Great Stuff !!!!!  Thanks for posting  ;D


pete
Title: ESS and Mach4 Setup
Post by: DazTheGas on April 23, 2015, 06:21:38 PM
Finally Part 2 finished setting up the Y and Z axis with a slave on the Y axis.

Part 2 Here (https://youtu.be/9i8itueAd3E)

Working on 3rd.. ;)
Title: Re: ESS and Mach4 Setup
Post by: bucwheat on April 24, 2015, 09:27:57 PM
Awesome!
Title: Re: ESS and Mach4 Setup
Post by: DazTheGas on April 25, 2015, 12:06:57 PM
Part 3 now complete, contains the setup of limit switches, homing and software limits.

Part 3 Here (https://youtu.be/cB-B1-SaZ_0)

Enjoy
Title: Re: ESS and Mach4 Setup
Post by: cd_edwards on April 26, 2015, 04:17:57 PM
thanks for this. I was loosing hair because of that A0 at the end of part 2.. I now have mach4 moving correctly. Still need to figure out sharing of switches as I have X-- and X++ sharing a pin as well as Y and Z. Then there's the spindle. I have it starting up, but there is something definitely wrong. It's surging higher and higher in speed.
Title: Re: ESS and Mach4 Setup
Post by: dude1 on April 26, 2015, 05:36:31 PM
try set the speeds x2 of what they are meant to be with Darwin to get 10000 rpm I had to have set to 100000 to get 10000 rpm also remove M3, M4, M5 for some reason they can muck up the spindle control.
Title: Re: ESS and Mach4 Setup
Post by: KingKerf on April 27, 2015, 02:20:31 PM
Thanks for the videos DazTheGas. Extremely helpful and informative.
Title: Re: ESS and Mach4 Setup
Post by: cncman172 on May 01, 2015, 02:08:10 PM
Outstanding set of videos, I found these extremely useful, ran across several issues your videos answered very clearly.  THANK YOU

Russ
 :D
Title: Re: ESS and Mach4 Setup
Post by: DazTheGas on May 01, 2015, 04:14:15 PM
Next on way shortly, that stepper finally went bad and took a driver with it....

DazTheGas
Title: Re: ESS and Mach4 Setup
Post by: Gerhard Grasser on May 04, 2015, 03:20:50 PM
hey there,

to do no double-posting here the link to my problem:

http://www.machsupport.com/forum/index.php/topic,29953.msg208479.html#msg208479

best regards
Gerhard
Title: Re: ESS and Mach4 Setup
Post by: DazTheGas on May 05, 2015, 07:39:03 AM
Gerhard

Not sure why you are trying to use charge pump with the ESS, they were specifically designed for erratic behavior from the parallel port, your not using a parallel port as such. in one of the videos you will notice that i mentioned connecting a relay to the 24 volts that mach4 controls, this will do the same. Just need a relay breakout board that will take the amps and voltage and send it a signal from mach4 to activate.

I will be utilizing port 2 for my limit sensors within the week or so and changing the mechanical ones for proximity sensors, so i can check port 2 then.

DazTheGas
Title: Re: ESS and Mach4 Setup
Post by: Gerhard Grasser on May 05, 2015, 02:35:54 PM
Thank you for your posting.
I will wait for your result.
Title: Re: ESS and Mach4 Setup
Post by: cd_edwards on May 05, 2015, 08:36:14 PM
I don't think the parallel port is the problem as far as a charge pump is concerned. It's more todo with erratic software and windows crashing. With the signal from the charge pump being put out by mach3/4 the hardware knows its safe to startup the machine. without the signal, then do not startup or for that  matter quit doing what your doing because something catostrophic has occurred such as a software crash or the user exiting the program for some reason.
Title: Re: ESS and Mach4 Setup
Post by: Fastest1 on September 30, 2015, 09:16:30 AM
   Bravo! That was a beautifully done series.
 I believe I am brave enough to attempt a revisit of M4 soon!

   I do pose a question on video 3 about the simultaneous homing that occurs at 13:50. Z should have moved first but didnt.
Title: Re: ESS and Mach4 Setup
Post by: DazTheGas on September 30, 2015, 11:51:40 AM
   I do pose a question on video 3 about the simultaneous homing that occurs at 13:50. Z should have moved first but didnt.

The machine was not homing at that time, it was simply moving all axis to 0

DazTheGas
Title: Re: ESS and Mach4 Setup
Post by: Len-Tikular on July 25, 2019, 04:16:19 AM
Is it advisable to have a separate ethernet card installed in the PC, I.e 1 for connection the Warp9 Smoothstepper and the other for Internet ?
Title: Re: ESS and Mach4 Setup
Post by: thosj on July 25, 2019, 07:47:07 AM
I think so, yes.